November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

March 28, 2004 // 3:35 a.m. // The plus and minus of it all.

I went to a concert tonight. And rather than review it, I'll do a good/bad list, because it's all I could think of doing during the show. Good will be represented by a +, bad by a -.

- The show was in Park City.

+ It was warm enough to navigate without a jacket.

- They patted me down when they searched me.

+ They didn't find my camera.

- I arrived early (8:20) and the show didn't start until 11:45.

+/- There was no opener.

- There actually was an unofficial one. Rich Park City kids breakdancing.

- Few were breakdancing. Most did things like the robot. You know, the "battle moves" that the kids did at our seventh and eighth grade dances.

+ A cute girl asked me to take a picture.

-*Of* her, not *with* her.

- A guy who looked like Frank Zappa with a huge cowboy hat (who I dubbed, Garth Zappa) made me aware that no cameras were allowed and made me check it in the coat check...

- At my expense. ($3.00)

+ Not having $3 to spare, when the coat check woman left and Garth Zappa left, I shoved the camera back into my pants and walked away...

- ...but a security dude saw me...

+ And after I promised to not use it, he let me go.

+ I saw tons of flashes going off behind me, so I pulled out my camera...

- ...which was then confiscated by a woman who said she was the manager. She said I could get it back after the show.

- People behind me kept taking pictures.

+ They too eventually ceased, meaning I wasn't singled out.

+ I got to say, "Gang Starr in the house!" into the microphone.

+ A cute girl stood by me and swayed.

- Someone pinched/grabbed my ass.

+ It was a cute girl.

- At least, I think it was a girl.

+ Actually, it was. Because she mentioned it to me a few seconds later. She was extremely cute and looked like Maura Davis in this picture. But she was even cuter.

- She didn't stay long...

+ But another cute girl stood next to me for a song...

- Before having me help lift her on stage so that she could dance by the lead rapper.

- She wasn't confiscated, nor was she likely given back at the end of the show. In fact, she danced for 20 seconds and no security stopped her.

+ The group stayed on stage to sign autographs...

- But I had no money to buy a CD.

+ So they signed my stub.

+ They also gave out meet-n'-greet wristbands...

- To hot girls.

+ A fight broke out...

- Right behind me. Bottles were used and broken. I kept hearing, "I'll cut you!" in my head.

- No one actually said, "I'll cut you."

+ And Garth Zappa was far nicer to these guys than he was to me. So condescending he was to me.

+ The manager found me. She said my camera was in her office.

- And she found some old friends right in front of me. Hugs and talk delayed the process.

- So did her going upstairs.

- So did going outside. Cops had been called for the incident, and things were still out of control.

+ Drunks plus fresh Park City snow and slush = comedy.

- This wasted seven more minutes.

+ She told me to come with her to get the camera.

+ She gave it back.

- She gave me a lecture.

+ In it she said, "normally, we're supposed to confiscate the film, the camera, but I'm saying, fuck it." She explained that it's in the artist's contract that if there are too many flashes, they're supposed to start doing this.

+ Five of us criminals were caught. No word yet if their cameras were yoinked or not.

+ She really was nice about it, but I believed her when she said normally they confiscate.

-/+ She looked like Liz Phair, bringing my experiences with cease and desist photo opportunities full circle.

- I'm convinced Liz is out to get me.

+Speaking of, I just heard a Liz song on ESPN.

-It was "Extrordinary."

Eery: And it came on at the exact moment I closed my browser to see what Liz photo I had used for my desktop.

- Lots of bad slushy snow on the roads coming home...

+ ...but only for about five miles.

- Couldn't see the lines on the road for a good ten miles...

+ But when it cleared up and I coasted, I saved a ton of gas.

- My ears are ringing.

- I lost this entry when the diaryland window froze...

+ But this time, unlike two of my last three entries, I saved it.

- Got home at 2:41. Going to sleep then (for just under three hours) would leave me a zombie.

+ It's now 3:26. And I'm done with this...interesting entry.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin