November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

April 10, 2001 // 7:30 a.m. // Performing: for the law and the school

Damnit, damnit, damnit.

While reading a friend's diary, I realized I missed 2001's edition of Take 5. Take 5 is a night of five student written, produced, acted and directed one act plays, as well as a few monologues. In '99, I played Peter the naive and aloof young man who loves his best friend, but she doesn't realize it. Ironically, the same situation was playing out in my life at the time. Last year, I was Beatrice/Oswald Grimm, the cross dressing psychiatrist who plans to rewrite fairy tale history when he/she learns the secrets of classics such as Cinderella, Rumplestiltskin, Superman and Tinkerbelle. It's been the last week of March for the last two years, so imagine my surprise when I find out that the show ended on Saturday, the week the high schoolers start spring break.

It's more than this. It's seeing all of the people I remember from last year, and sharing all of the good times with them again.

What did I do instead? Well, it was my friends' "genius" idea to go egging, and *every time* someting was about to go down, we'd see a sign of what was to come. At two houses, the lights were off on the block, except for the house across the street. In at least one of them, the person was awake and walking around. To make a long and boring story extremely short, we drove out to West Valley to ambush a kid's car, and we (in a navy Jeep Cherokee) saw a white Jeep Cherokee. It kept coming off of a street every 5-10 minutes while we sat in the car. We left, and it followed us, and it occured to us that it might be neighborhood watch. This was rare for me, as our neighborhood watch is just a bunch of stickers plastered in every window in the neighborhood saying that we're protected by neighborhood watch. Ooh, like that'll scare away a potenial criminal. Similar to the security alarms our neighborhood has or the car alarms that go off with no attention paid to them.

Yeah, I know I got sidetracked. We decided to park a few houses down, and to duck down when the Cherokee came around to make them think we had gone into a house. No sooner than we pulled up, did we see the Cherokee, and missed our chance to duck. We did this to the next 3-4 cars, and after 15 minutes, we saw a large SUV-like vehicle. We ducked, but the two in the front seat saw police lights. The Cherokee had called the cops.

Now here's where the story starts. We looked suspicious, because a) we were all wearing beanies and all black, b)we were ducking down out of view c) we had *six* cartons of eggs and d) it was 12:30 a.m. and we were circling the neighborhood. When they asked us why we weren't parked in front of the house, the driver said tha he didn't want to blind them. Luckily the kid who we were going to egg covered for us and said we were going out to eat together, but then his dog ran out of the house, and he chased it down the street in a t-shirt and sweats (with no shoes or socks) in a chase reminiscent of the scene in "Booty Call" when the guys chase the dog.

So all ended well. But it's so typical of my friends. When he gets in trouble, he says, "let's stop doing it." When I get in trouble, I'm a pussy and I'm scolded for not going along with them.

P.S. Pulled over the night before for a headlight that was out, and got two hours of sleep. I have a book report due tomorrow, and I haven't read a word.

apexsensation

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin