November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

May 1, 2001 // 3:21 p.m. // And It's Not So Bad

Today at 2:20, G talked to me for the first time since our argument on late Saturday/early Sunday.

"Jason."

"Yeah."

"Meet us over at Wendy's."

"OK."

"Bye."

This is a typical phone conversation between the two of us. All of eight seconds, just long enough to deliver me the message, and tell what we're going to do for the afternoon. Today, it was easy to feel the tension between the three of us, as I never once looked at them for the first half of lunch.

My conversation with B revolved around short four-five word sentences, and only relating to the subject at hand, which today was pro wrestling.

The three of us have tickets for the WWF show at the E Center on the 26th which I have no desire to attend, especially since it's so close to the second anniversary of the death of Owen Hart. I've been boycotting the WWF (that's World Wresting Federation, not the World Wildlife Fund!) since June of 1999, after they disgusted me by showing video footage outside of the church where the funeral for Owen Hart was being held. But since Satan himself has purchased his competition, and since I'd rather watch no wrestling than to watch the "Vince McMahon brand of wrestling", it looks like my days as a pro wrestling fan are over.

And what days they were. For years while my friends were enjoying quiet evenings alone with their families, I'd be in front of the tube every Monday night watching sports entertainment, a male soap opera if you will with my Coke in one hand and my Whopper in the other. And as a result of my Monday night habit, I never "enjoyed" shows such as "Friends", or "Ally McBeal". In fact, to this day, I've never seen an episode of either, along with other hits like "ER" and "Just Shoot Me".

Wrestling was the one thing that held us together for the last six years. Now, that and growing older and apart is what's bringing down the curtain. It has been a wild ride, and I'm sad to see it go, but at the same time, I realize that it's really not so bad.

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin