November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

May 10, 2001 // 6:36 p.m. // Radio humor, and a new name for Lisa

Thank God for Utah radio. On one station, we have 20,000 straight songs that include everything from S Club 7 and Janet Jackson to Matchbox Twenty and Creed. On another, two morning hosts are hitchiking from Maine back to Salt Lake, apparently with no money, to raise awarenesss for the Boys and Girls clubs of Salt Lake. Sounds more like shameless self-promotion to me.

And then we have the "Radio From Hell" show.

The alterna-rock station featured a skit yesterday morning that kept me laughing for a good hour. In the skit, Kyle Brown (who plays the son of Carey and Bill on the morning show) starts a lawn care service. He calls it "The Sodomizer" and his catch phrase is "I'm gonna get your grass." The mock commercial is full of innuendo's relating to sodomy, and comes across like gold. Fortunately, they replayed it later in the morning, and I was lucky enough to record it on tape. Perhaps the funniest part is after the commercial has ended, Kyle says that he's going to get off the phone, and he's going to wait for the calls to roll in. One of the hosts points out that there was no phone number in the ad, and as a result, it's suggested that he pass out flyers with the number on it. But the whole reason he didn't pass out flyers in the first place is because he made the commercial. There are references to Robert Blake and 'Baretta' as well, which adds to the humor. I guess you'd have to hear it to truly understand what I mean.

Today at Wendy's my friends and I named our cars. Now I'm not a big fan of this anyway, especially after my 1989 Taurus was given the name Bessy. After seeing a truck with "Bessy" on the bumper, a change was needed. My 1994 Taurus would need a new name. After nixing Bertha, Barbara, Botswana (sp?), Blair, Bryn, Bonnie and Betty, they decided my choices of Brooke, Brianne and Becky were too new, (though my car is one of the newer of the group) and that those are "young and cute" names. We finally decided on Britta as a name we could all live with. B took the name I was going to use, Brooke, which works better on his Dodge Neon than my oversized Taurus.

Tomorrow I'm going to see Of Montreal in concert. I really like the bands from the Kindercore label, but with them being based around Georgia, they rarely travel out west. Tomorrow is also Sadie's at my old high school, and B spent part of the day with his date at the mall looking for clothes.

Weezer's third album comes out Tuesday! Add to that list REM and Depeche Mode. Plus, is the world ready for another Deep Blue Something album?

Jas

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin