November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

May 11, 2001 // 1:44 p.m. // The woes of being broke

I have $31 in my wallet. Yesterday, I had $56.

That money has to last me until the seventeenth, when I get my next paycheck. Yesterday, I stupidly spent $14.51 on a Fountains Of Wayne CD and a That Dog CD. Both of which I already have, but if I'm to burn decent copies of them for my car, I need new copies with no scratches. Besides, That Dog for only 6.99 new? You can't beat it!

After G called me and asked me to drop him off at the Utah Museum of Natural History, I went to buy the CD's, as well as window shop at Barnes & Noble. I figured I only had an hour, and since B (supposedly) had to work at 5, I figured with it being 3:30 that we wouldn't have time to eat. So the dilema: to satisfy my hunger that came from not eating all day, or wait a few more minutes for him to call. I chose to eat. I stopped by Baskin Robbins and KFC since I was in the area. But when I pulled into the parking lot, I paused. After buying the CD's, I only had $41 left. After estimating the cost of the upcoming concert, merchandise, gas (a bargain at only $1.55 per gallon) and the Weezer CD on Tuesday, I realized that maybe spending $5.00 at KFC was out of my budget for now. But I did need the ice cream, so I plopped down 3.29 for a sundae.

As I got in my car, I saw that I had one missed call on my phone. And I was gone for what, 90 seconds? G called back saying he was done at the museum, and that he and B were now at Wendy's. That would mean that while I was driving to the museum from the Baskin Robbins/Wendy's area, (I figured that it was they who called because they were finished) they were driving from the museum to where I had just been. B's car was at the Toys 'R' Us, so I walked from Wendy's down the hill into the store.

I knew where they'd be. In the toy section. More specifically, the wrestling action figures section. I saw B running toward and hiding behind a bin of stuffed animals. He gave me the "ssshhhh" sign, and I followed his eyes as he looked toward G who had a plush football in his hand, and a look of revenge in his eye. Yep, that's right. B had hit G in the head with the football, and G was now looking for revenge. They act like they're five, but they're seventeen. Just another day...

Hopefully G doesn't call and ask me to do anything tonight. I don't want to turn him down for the concert.

I just realized how mesmorized I can make myself simply by spinning a CD-R on my pinky finger. I've been doing it all morning.

$31 for the next six days. It looks like no merchandise at the show, no Weezer CD 'til the seventeenth, and only half of a tank of gas. And no fast food until Wednesday. But I'm so hungry, and I'm out of the basics at home. Mommy! Come home from work and fix your son some spaghetti! Please?!

Jas

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin