November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

May 20, 2001 // 9:43 p.m. // A schitzophrenic's dream entry

Today was different. It felt different. A change for the better? Who knows, only time will tell.

After calling ninety minutes late (I swear I wasn't waiting for them to call) B called and said that they'd be over in five minutes. I quickly changed out of my yard/house cleaning clothes into a pair of jeans that I had packed away for the summer, and a white t-shirt with a Tennessee Titans jersey over it. Less than a minute after the first call, B said "Jason, we're here." Bragging to myself that I was able to get ready so fast, I walked outside and didn't see G's Jeep.

Damnit. They knew I'd take forever, so they did that as a joke to get me ready faster. After a few minutes they backed out of my driveway, and I hopped in the Jeep.

The speech about me being lazy started back up again. Sure I hadn't helped my dad build the professional looking shed to house my mom's boxes from work, but I had played an important role the day before in assisting with the assemby of my CD rack in a further effort to help unclutter my room.

Plus, after returning home at 2:00 this morning after a night of hanging out with them and waking up at 5, I say that I have every right to be lazy. Every day since seventh grade (nearly seven years) I've been awake at or before the crack of dawn. I doubt they didn't even wake up until 11, causing them to be late for our adventure today. And *I'm* the lazy one.

We set our sights on the swap meet hunting for gold, but settling for a little pyrite. G saw a shirt as he was leaving and couldn't pass up the chance to buy it. B bought a car cell phone charger, a steal at $8.00, and I bought tweeters for my car, a $15.00 bargain. G also passed on the Sting CD, insisting he didn't want to buy it just for "Desert Rose." He instead paid a dollar more for R. Kelly's TP2.com, which he's already disappointed with.

From the swap meet, we headed to Park City to the outlet stores looking for toys. That's right, toys. After searching the local toy stores for a few rare action figures, we drove thirty miles on the chance that we may find them. I'm sad to say that we didn't, but boy did we spend, spend, spend. Deal after deal seemed to jump out at me screaming "buy me! Buy me!" and I had no self-control to turn them down. I bought a $29 jersey at a sporting apparel store, and a $5 shirt that was only $5 if you spent more than $20 at the store. Following that, I bought the coolest watch I've ever seen for only $20. The face of the watch is *huge* digital letters that count the seconds, while the two hands on the watch tick away the minutes and hours. Truly classic. G bought a $40 watch, but worst of all, he was forced to spend $5 for less that three gallons of gas to get us there, because he was convinced it was the only gas station exit for miles. At 1.74 a gallon, it was the most I'd ever seen gas.

We tried to plan our trip so that we could get home in time for The Simpsons marathon, but it just wasn't happening. I caught only the last two episodes. Anyone else unhappy that the season finale was one of those damn concept shows where the characters portray other characters? Still, this season was the funniest in years, and kept me glued to my TV every Sunday night.

SNL wasn't bad either, and I'm not just saying that because Weezer was the musical guest. Although not as funny as Lara Flynn Boyle's "Save The Starving Actress Fund." *That* was comedy. With lines to the effect of, "This is little Callista. The only nourishment available to her is bottled water and David Kelley's approval." Also, "You can't just walk up to Sarah Jessica Parker and hand her a sandwich. The poor thing wouldn't know what to do with it." The skit was so funny, I had to watch it later, as I laughed the entire way through the first airing.

What's good about The Simpsons is its season ran from November 5 to May 20, and I can only recall a few weeks without episodes and only one rerun. There were 21, but it seems like more. Perhaps a week I may bave missed reran on an alternate Sunday, and I thought it was "new." SNL never had more than three weeks in a row before there'd be a "best of (insert cast member's name here) show," or a "best of (insert holiday here) show." Since October 7th, I wouldn't be surprised if they've only had about 17 episodes. I guess both are close. It just seems like fewer for SNL, and more for The Simpsons.

I love The Simpsons. I love SNL. I love my new watch. I'm just loving life right now.

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin