November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

May 21, 2001 // 10:40 p.m. // Life goes on without you

I believe one of the hardest parts of the transition from high school to college was accepting the fact that the school will move on without you. Maybe it's a fantasy or an egotistical belief that the world will stop when you graduate. People will always think of you, they'll always have memories of you, but life will move on. That's what I realized as I trecked back up to my alma matter.

Entering the school felt like entering a home you grew up in that is inhabited by a mess of strangers. Some of the faces were the same. Some were new to me. People who I spoke with just a year before would glance up at me in mid-conversation, and just as quickly as they had glanced up, they looked away, forgetting the memory in a flash. I saw a girl whom I bonded with over the past three years just push her way past the crowd, me included, as if we were strangers in a shopping line. Minor changes had been made as far as displays and decorations, and I wondered where I was when they made the decision.

I felt I didn't belong in this home. I was simply a visitor only months after I was forced out. It wasn't the same, and it never will be.

I'm not one for spending five dollars on food that I haven't tried. That prompted an argument with friends of mine who essentially "forced" me into eating Indian or Chinese food. I wanted Burger King. That way I know exactly what I'm getting.

Did I get my way? If you're a regular reader, you know the answer was:

NO!!!

Did I complain? Sure, a little at first, but after being blackmailed into choosing Chinese, and having my own reverse psychology turn against me, I gave in and bought the kung pao chicken.

We ate our food at a park (which was really a playground at an apartmant complex, wait a go B) by the Russian Gymnast's house, and continued to tease G about how picky he is about a simple date. Picky about a girlfriend is understandable, but he's just as fickle when it comes to taking a girl out. As far as I know, his only date has been senior prom. Hell, as far as I know, that's B's only date too.

Trolley Square was our next destination. Here, you'll find everything from sunglasses to restauraunts, to upscale pottery and clothing stores. Similar to a mall, but less crowded, more beautiful, and a better atmosphere. Where did we settle?

The arcade.

After playing the basketball game where you try to make the most baskets in a time period, G found a rod that if moved, prompted the balls to roll down the shoot allowing us to play for free. And play we did. Without word of warning from the staff, the three of us played arcade basketball for a good thirty minutes. As soon as we left, a child who had been watching us began to play, and immediately a staff member fixed the machine, ending the free basketball.

The real reason we were there of course, was to go to Trolley Taffy Station to see one of the girl's who rejected G to the prom this year. He recalled that Russian Gymnast worked here when he was friends with her, but at the time of the dance, I visited twice, and didn't see her. This time, we saw a brunette who we believed to be her. I was the one assigned to see if it was her for sure. I had my doubts which B confirmed for me by saying that "if that's Russian Gymnast, then that's not the same Russian Gynmnast as I remember at school." G couldn't make a positive ID because he was too afraid that if it was her, it'd be awkward. After all, she did turn him down at prom. Whoever she was, she was nice. After giving me what could hardly be considered a scoop of ice cream, she said "there ya go," extending her arm to hand me the ice cream before pulling it away and telling me she was kidding. "You'd be surprised at how many people fall for that." she said as she scooped a larger scoop onto my ice cream cone. She seemed very happy and energetic. She kept dancing around the store when there were no customers (which was often). She reminded me of the bubbly redhead who pushed passed me in the hall today without saying hi.

Tomorrow, I'll take a risk on the Nikka Costa CD.

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin