November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

May 26, 2001 // 10:21 a.m. // Adios to The AstroVan (part 3)

This is part three of the three piece entry. I assure you, the conclusion will make more sense if you read parts one and two first.

We finally get out of the house at 9:00. My sister, who usually has my dad wrapped around her little finger, asks if she can spend the weekend in southern Utah with her boyfriend and their family.

This catches my parents totally off guard.

"Well..." the pause reaches nearly thirty seconds, but I can't be sure as my *watch is still broken!*

He continues, "I don't think it's a good idea. I think you're too young, and that's something you do when you're older. Plus, you spring this on me at the last minute, and you put me in a bad position, because I'm expected to say yes, because Tre and his brother drove all this way to see you."

"And with all of these car problems, it's not the greatest idea."

Bravo mom and dad. It's the right decision. She's just 14! You don't let her go on a three day weekend with two guys that are older than her.

She asks both of my parents when they're alone if they trust her. Both hesitated, responded with a "noooo it's not that..."

"Then why?" she asks.

Dad lowers his voice. "Because you're too young to be alone with them."

"But his parents are going to be there."

"That doesn't matter to me. Where will you sleep?"

"In (his sister) Nicole's room. She usually sleeps on the couch anyway."

I can see dad slowly loosing his grip before my eyes. Amelia knows just how to work it, too. She has respectfully refused to place her bags in the trunk, because she anticipates being able to go. She just returned from school before we left, but she's carrying a heavy bag and a light bag. One I suspect was school stuff, the other was likely clothes.

"Fine, just go." The grip has been lost. She leaves, I'm left shaking my head, and the image of them driving off into the distance.

We got to Scipio, cleaned the van of our valuables, and said goodbye to it. I envisioned the "Bookends" theme by SOmon and Garfunkel playing as I was filming the van inside and outside. It brought great memories in the 2 1/2 years we had it, but at 180,000+ miles, we decided to mail the service station the title, and let him do with the van what he wants.

If we would have taken my car, we would have made it. Remember how much I said I saved on gas in part one?

Jas

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin