November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

May 27, 2001 // 12:06 p.m // Only the third worse weekend of my life

I thought my Friday night was an adventure. I came to find out that G and B's was all that and more.

The two of them were driving to a co-worker's house, when they turned down the wrong street. Realizing this immediately, the two then pulled into a driveway to flip around. They were stopped dead in their tracks by two cops yelling into a megaphone for them to freeze, and that they were considered armed and dangerous. To make matters worse, the two officers HAD THEIR GUNS OUT AND POINTED ON THE TWO OF THEM!!!! One of the officers was really rude apparently, and the other was calm, almost knowing that it wasn't them who commited whatever crime. They searched them, searched G's car, and then let them go. The officers told them that there was an assault that night, and the only description was of a blue car. Wrong place at the wrong time, I guess.

Yesterday, if you can imagine, was worse. After visiting the swap meet and cleaning up in video games at the arcade, (I was more interested in looking for a crush who worked there) we picked up B, and waited for wrestlers to enter the E Center through the back gate.

I found this pointless. I would have much rather been playing video games than watch car after car enter the lot for three hours. I made the best of it by making fun of the rest of the crowd waiting with us at their expense.

The show goes on, and our seats are only about twenty feet from the railing. Every time a wrestler would enter the ring or leave the ring, he'd trample B and I as well as the boy and two girls sitting next to us to get to the rail. On one occasion, he knocked over a girl's full drink. On another, he almost smashed his foot. We all laughed at him as he seemed to be ten years old again running to high five the wrestlers.

"Is he your little brother?" the guy sitting next to us asked.

"Yeah." I only said yes because everyone thinks we're brothers. We look nothing alike however.

"I'm sorry."

I laughed, because it was exactly what I was thinking. I think that guy (all of seventeen?) was insecure, because within minutes after we arrived to our seats, his girlfriend went from sitting on his right (next to me) to siiting on his left (next to him).

After watching wrestlers leave, we went to the arcade to see if my crush was still working.

"Jason," B began, "what would you give me if I could get you a date with 'cement girl?' I made the same sound Homer Simpson makes while drooling in response to that. They've never talked me out of a crush except for this one, so I think one of them likes her.

As we turned right onto 3100 South, we saw an Intrepid and an Impala, both similar ro cars we had seen wrestlers drive coming from the same direction as the E Center. We slowed down, let both cars pass, and found out the Intrepid contained no wrestlers, but a family, and the Impala was a cop. We followed behind the cop, and waited fot it to turn left at a light, deciding not to follow to closely behind him. I will attempt to make a diagram of the road below:

(note: after seeing how terrible it looked in diaryland after I spent so long making it, I deleted it. I guess if you want a diagram of it, you could email me, and we'll see how it turns out.)

So here's the story, morning glory's. G was turning left in the left lane to turn onto Redwood Road. Another car turning right came off of Redwood Road missing the lane it was supposed to turn into, (the near lane)and also the second lane. The car turned into our lane which was on the opposite side of the road and was about to hit us head-on while we were approching a stop in the turning lane. G said "what the hell is this guy doing," followed quickly by a honk as he said "oh sh--!" He didn't get the last two letters out as the other car scraped along the side of us. I missed everything except for the huge jolt, and seeing the car who hit us swerve into lane two and lane one. He had narrowly avoided a head-on collision, and swerved to scrape along the side of us. Luckily no one was hurt. The impact felt like we had been hit directly in the back left passenger's area. That's where the visible damage was, too. Expecting to see a huge dent, and scrapes, we were shocked to see liquid leaking, and the transmission sagging on the ground. The back driver's wheels were also at an angle, making the Jeep tires look less like this: | | and more like this: /

There were also three carloads of witnesses. One was a truck behind us, a guy who went to the wrestling event. The other was driving next to him during the accident. The other was at the gas station and saw it. They were all very supportive and helped us out greatly. It made a tough experience even a little bit easier.

The guy was not only drunk, but he was illegal. He had no insurance, and G still isn't sure if he has full coverage or not. The guy was arrested on a DUI or a DWI, and was taken to jail. He won't be able to call until Tuesday. We unloaded all of his stereo equipment into his brother's Izuzu Rodeo and he dropped us off at my house. We drove up to the UofU Union Building parking lot, and swung by the capitol after and spoke about the accident. I arrived at 3:40 after the accident, and drifted to sleep at 4:20. My mom woke me up at 5:15 unaware of what happend until she checked her answering machine, and I have yet to go back to sleep.

Luckily, it wasn't serious, but the car he put so much work into is likely totaled. We all had on our seatbelts, and no one was hurt. I guess we can be grateful we weren't hurt. And honestly, despite this, throughout history, today is one of my mucky yucky, unlucky days.

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin