November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

August 19, 2001 // 10:04 a.m. // Boxing champion indeed.

I'm not a big fan of boxing, but I was watching various Rocky movies last night and this morning and found a possible discrepency.

When the ref makes the 10 count when the fighter is down, don't they have to be on their feet at 10? If so, this presents a problem in Rocky II. At the end of the fight, both he and Apollo Creed go down at the same time. As the referee is counting to ten, both fighters struggle to get to their feet to avoid being counted out.

When the ref gets to 9, Rocky begins to get up, and Apollo slumps in a corner. At ten, Rocky is on his feet, but he's stumbling and he's holding onto the ropes. Apollo loses because Rocky is up, and Apollo is down. But wait a minute. Did he really win? Isn't the referee supposed to continue his count if the fighter is still using the ropes for support? Wouldn't he have to be away from the ropes to be considered standing?

If I'm wrong, I'm wrong. But I believe I'm right on this one. Of course, this would change the whole series of sequels wouldn't it? Apollo would still be champ, there likely would not have been a second rematch. Or maybe there would. Apollo would again feel he didn't win decisively (because he would have won by TKO.) and we'd again get another fight between the two, this time being the final time. At any rate, Apollo would not have died, and Rocky may or may not have been champion in the next three movies.

And I just realized I've analyzed this to death. Maybe my dad knows a little about boxing. Either that or the good ol' internet. Internet, you never cease to amaze me.

Jason

Random Garbage lyric:

I'm only happy when it rains

I'm only happy when it's complicated

And though I know you can't appriciate it

I'm only happy when it rains

-Only Happy When It Rains

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin