November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

September 7, 2001 // 7:11p.m. // It's only a moment that gets you through

Sometimes it's the little things that make your day better.

Today I left at 6:45 again and was surprised to not only hit only green lights, but I didn't have to contend with the usual traffic that has been the reason for my tardiness for the past two weeks.

I was also determined to get a seat on the shuttle. In fact, I had to. If I was forced to stand, I'd have no room to set my historical name tag safely. I got my seat, settled down, and glanced up as a girl covered in jeans from head to toe. She made an impression on me immediately, by dropping her Dasani bottle of water on the ground, and watching helplessly as it rolled down the incline out of her control. We both laughed. I was also half-listening to the news being broadcast over the speakers on the bus.

"It's cool that they found a cure for AIDS." the girl next to me said after hearing the report on the succesful animal tests. I just replied with "yeah," but I wanted to elaborate about the advances in medicine.

The news continued with the uptight news anchor evoking a laugh out of me when he said Fatboy Slim. Later, the girl and I (who may be Emily from my first semester. It looked somewhat liker her but different.) shared a laugh over Princton not caring about being voted the number one school. She (sitting on the aisle) was even courteous enough to get up, and then to block the people who were forced to stand on the bus to let me off before her. It's the little things that make my day, and it couldn't have happened at a better time.

As for the name tag contest...I faired terrible. I didn't finish in the top three, but the top three were great. 3rd place was a journal replicating Louis & Clark's, second was the Mayflower, and first was a replica of the Declaration Of Independance created by printing it on the computer, crumbling and ironing it out. The funniest nametag was brought in by a kid who had not a nametag, but a washcloth owned by Jim Morrison (not really) that he tried to enter into the contest. Of course as with the muscle cars, our teacher didn't know who he was. Where was this man in the 60's and 70's?

THe FYE class (first year experience) had a barbeque at the history teacher's house today in which anyone was invited. If Ogden weren't so far, I'd be there. After all, Tiffany is there. I may even have the guts to talk to her. Poor Tiffany, she volunteered (only after no one else did) to give rides to two students who had no way of getting there. Such a sweetie. And not afraid to snap back either.

To round out the day, I finally bought my books ($214) tried to register to take a test, and didn't attend a study session for a class I so desprately need help in.

C'est la vie.

Random Gin Blossoms lyric:

"I've lost my mind on what I'd find

And all of the pressure that I left behind

On Allison Road

Fools in the rain if the sun gets through

Fire's in the heaven of the eyes I knew

On Allison Road

Dark clouds file in when the moon is near

Birds fly by A.M. in her bedroom stare"

---Allison Road

5 years ago: Tupac shot, rap world mourns.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin