November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

September 22, 2001 // 10:16 p.m. // *Eck cough cough*

At about five yesterday, I began to feel sick for what may be the first time this year. I feel I jinxed myself when as those around me were developing flus, I danced around and said "I'm not siiiick and youuuuuu are." I'm feeling hot, my throat is still sore, still dry

and my nose is beginning to run again which was a problem I thought I eliminated this morning.

Nothing serious. It was enough to keep me from going to a football game. I was smart enough to realize that even after changing into my jacket and long pants from short sleeves and shorts, I would still probably make my minor cold worse by standing in the 60 degree weather for two or more hours.

Instead I bought a few used CD's and headed home.

At 9, G called and told me they were on the way to pick me up. I watched for either G's Jeep or B's Neon. I was surprised when Jesse pulled up in his Camaro.

We drove up to the football game to get the score. After that, we went to the union building to bowl two games.

Things were a little different this time. The stipulation was the loser of the four had to streak naked (I don't know what the obsession with the streaking is lately) through sprinklers at the site of the winner's choice.

You also had a chance to redeem yourself if you came in last the first game by coming in first the second game.

If you lost the second game, it was pretty much over.

We all expected Jesse to lose. He didn't look like a bowler, and he didn't do well last time we bowled. G over time has been the best bowler, but I have posted the most wins and highest scores this year. Yesterday, he was terrible. He came in last the first game but had the chance to come in first the second game to cancel it out. He couldn't beat me, or B or Jesse. He came in a distant fourth, and it was now up to me as the winner to pick the site.

Before this, they played video games and I searched the campus for a pencil or a pen to write the scores down with. It wasn't until I had given up that I found one near a phone. Turns out I remembered the scores from both games anyway, and can recite them with no problem.

The union was closing, lights were turning off, so B and I went to Jesse's car. As I was leaving, a heavy boy with close cropped hair dyed read and another color approached me from behind. "Hey. Hey. Do you remember a big fat kid named Woody Watts?" I took the bottle of Coke out of my mouth and made a "mmmmm" sound as if my mouth were full and covered with tape. I pointed to him, smiled and asked how he had been doing. He said fine, and kind of walked/skipped/ran away. Woody was in my class from first grade to somewhere around fifth or sixth grade. He was one of only three people that I knew from elementary school to attend the same junior high as me. He moved before eighth grade, and we lost contact.

We headed to Wendy's past 1300 East. It was here we decided G would streak if the sprinklers were still on. Fortunately they were, and because we didn't want to watch, we decided the only proof we'd have that he did it was to have him start at 800 South, and to place his hat at a gas station on 900 South. It's a long block to run, and quite a busy street even at 1 in the morning. Plus it was cold, the wind was blowing, and he was naked and running through water.

He kept stalling, as anyone would. First because he didn't want his hat to be set there, second because of paranoia about cops (two had driven by in a one minute span before this) and finally because he was waiting for a time for no cars to drive by. It was nearly impossible. The way the four traffic lights in question are timed would make this dificult. He finally did it, then ran back ( a two block run) put on his clothes and got back in the car. Less than one minute later, a fire truck rushed past us as did two cop cars. Great timing indeed.

We saw the car leaving the races, so we turned onto State Street and pulled up alongside Jason, the older brother of crush Randi. I was clear that I didn't want them to "set anything up" but I think it went in one ear and out the other. After seeing another kid we knew and talking to him, we headed home at about 2 a.m.

I'm feeling sicker than ever and I haven't had anything to eat, because although the Wendy's dinner at 12:45 this morning was technically today, I count it as yesterday's meal.

Random Weezer lyric:

"Mine is the loneliest of numbers

And now is the loneliest of times

You're 19 days late, but still I sit and wait"

-Waiting On You

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin