November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

September 29, 2001 // 7:51 a.m. // Helping exchange students

I did my good deed for yesterday.

My history class is part of a First Year Experience class where students travel to all of the same classes together. This allows the transition from H.S. to college easier. Also in this class are the international students, many of whom are from the Far East and struggle with english.

One girl who sits next to me asked me if I could identify the word for the drawstring on her bag. I told her the word was "string," spelled it out for her, and watched as she used it in a sentence. She said to the boy in front of her, "you're leaning on my string." The drawstring was caught between her desk and the one in front of it.

Later, she asked me what "what are you up to" meant. I explained that it was present tense (she thought it was past) and that it is to be asked when you want to know what someone is doing right now. (I hope she didn't take it literally) I should have told her that past tense was "what have you been up to," but I totally blanked it out.

This is why I want to be a teacher. I really like helping people, especially in that way. Of course my six year internship and the fact that my parents are teachers has nothing to do with that, right? That's why I enjoyed being recognized as the smartest kid in class throughout elementary school and junior high.

Taylor lost on Tough Enough in the finals to Nidia. At least she's more attractive than Nidia. Taylor looks like one of my crushes that'll be mentioned in my next entry later today about what happened last night. If we married, she'd be Taylor Taylor. I don't think she'd be happy living life like that.

Random Tullycraft lyric:

"Oh why couldn't I have know you sooner (if someone would've told me)

I was so unprepared for you (if someone would've told me)

It took 20 years to meet you

To fly 3000 miles

To find the girl who made me smile."

-Heroes & Villains

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin