November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

October 7, 2001 // 3:43 p.m. // Homecoming 2001

Damnit! This entry was 100% complete, but when I went to edit/copy the whole thing, I accidently selected the whole thing and clicked paste. I'm going from pure memory.

First things first. Homecoming was Friday, but I only saw one person from my class, with the majority of those returning being last years graduates. I saw Hung and Jordan (Witch Nose) as well as Mara and Mary, who I was sure would want to talk to me about T.E.N.T. like they did at the game a couple of years before. Instead, Mary just looked over in my direction, and Mara just said "hi" as we passed by each other a few times.

Mara isn't the shy little thing I remembered. She was chatting it up with the governor's daughter, who she no doubt knew through her brother, the star wrestler that graduated with my class. She was a star herself. Multiple dance royalties as well as the star cheerleader. But there is someting that creeps me out about the way she looks, much like the first lady.

As I got there, I saw Veater (Vee-EIGHT-urr) a girl who I spent the majority of the two years of my museum internship bickering with approached me. The thing you must understand is we never spoke unless we had to. In fact, it was one of the first times I can ever remember talking to her volunteerily.

"What are you doing here?"

"Just came to visit my friends."

"Are you going to school?"

"Yeah."

"Where?"

"Weber State."

She then went on to tell me things I already knew, like how B is going to community college and how G is still working at the museum. I told her rather than asked her "why would you want to keep working at the museum when you don't have to?"

She responded with an "eww" and as we approached the gate, I went right and she went left. She ended up sitting near me a few muinutes later. I saw her get up and kind of push past me as she said "still writing," (she always saw me write) and "fine, don't say hi." Meanwhile, I kept writing on my little homecoming experience.

I nearly froze in the process, but rather than putting on one of the two jackets I had in my car, I chose to suffer. I had picked out what I wore for a reason. I wasn't about to put a jacket over it. By the end of the night all I wanted was to go to bed and bundle up. For the last half of the game I was so cold I could barely lift the lid off of the pen.

The game ended, and as I left, I saw Veater in the same spot as I saw her last time.

"Eww, afroman." I turned and saw her and Shay walking down the stairs. I made a mocking "neh neh neh neh neh" sound that sounded more like a seven year old than a college sophmore.

"I was just kidding." She sounded offended.

"I know." And with that, we parted ways. I saw her two minutes later when I drove down to the 7-11 a half a block away.

"Eww. It's you again." I said, still surprised I was even saying *anything* to her. She made another comment about my hair, I bought a drink, and then headed home. That's when G called, and now you are caught up.

Since I've already used Garbage, I decided to quote another artist who I've been listening to a lot this past week. And remember, I don't just promote the music I quote, I also listen to it!

Random Jewel lyric:

"You know that ain't right

'Cause you've come to me crying

Trying to stop, you said it hurts so bad

But please don't let you

Go back for more."

-Little Sister

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin