November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

October 09, 2001 // 4:09 p.m. // Jumbledness

I really should have spent today studying for a test I have in history tomorrow, especially because I have yet to pass one.

In high school, everything was equal. Throughout the quarter or trimester, you received constant homework assignments, a lot of worksheets and maybe even a little extra credit. Not college. In some classes, your grade is based on a few tests and that's it. At least in high school if you did poorly on a couple of tests, you could offset it by getting great scores on a few weeks worth of assignments.

But that's not the only reason I'm failing. I'd love to say that seeing the more motivated students motivates me, but it doesn't. It just makes me want to fail more because I don't want to be like everyone else I see doing nothing but studying. I'd quit now, but that'd likely mean moving out, and I've already piped $3000 plus dollars into this college thing. I need to start working again because the college money is slated to run out before winter semester of 2003 (about this time next year).

The Olympics are coming in February, and because of the recent terrorist attacks, security is really being beefed up at events like Jazz games and concerts. I felt pretty safe in the weeks following the terrorist acts, but for the past few weeks, that feeling has gone away. I don't know why either. Nobody I know will be attending any of the events although more tickets just became available. Mitt Romney, the Salt Lake Olympic Committee (SLOC) looks like the sleaziest man on earth. I wouldn't trust him with *anything.* Not my safety, not our safety.

Also because of the Olympics, you're likely to see orange cones, barrels, signs or anything related to construction. Right now, the freeways have just been completed (after being in various stages of closure for four years) but State Street (*the* street in SLC) is getting worked on now. Plus, with the addition of light rail, they've ruined the entire length of 4th South for four miles all the way up to Rice-Eccles Stadium, the home of opening and closing ceremonies. The street was so cool. It's my second favorite to only State Street. You had every fast food place, the mall just up the street, various stores (like Fred Meyer and Barnes & Noble) restauraunts, places to get your car fixed and a lot of businesses. All have lost a lot of business, because to most people it's not worth it to travel down the heavily constructed streets. I know we felt that way Friday. We opted to visit the Wendy's and Baskin Robbins on 1300 East (a distnace apart and more importantly a pain to get to because of U-Turns and dividers on the road) rather than venture down 4th South where they are next door to each other.

I'm listening to a playlist on my mp3 player I must have made at the time I got it because although I listened to all seven songs programmed, I wanted to skip through them all. Right now, it's Jimmy Eat World's "Lucky Denver Mint".

It's very cold right now. It's the first day of the season I've kept not one but two coats on. It rained last night and a lot today, and I bet the high is less than 60 degrees. I also slept most of the day (10:45ish-3) and watched most of the horrendously horrible Spiceworld. It's two hours of my life I'll never get back. More than that, it's two hours I could have been studying.

Jason

Random Jewel lyric:

"Will time stand still if it's pierced with cold

The more I live

The more I know

What's simple is true

I love you."

-What's Simple Is True

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin