November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

October 17, 2001 // 10:23 a.m. // Are you scared?

I've heard a few things about the anthrax exposure cases lately. First of all, how do 29 people get exposed to anthrax through that one letter? And I'm sure there is a good reason, but why are 29+ people crowded around a powder-filled letter in the first place after the reports we've heard for the past two weeks?

I actually heard a kid in my history class say that there are reports that the government is responsible, and is doing this to get us more upset over the attacks, thus making more non-believers in war believe it's right.

I think the news media is scaring people, and as a result, my grandma and my sister are really fearful. Like someone is going to send us anthrax. Plus, even if by some chance they did and we didn't recognize the name, we probably wouldn't open it anyway. I think she's even more scared after the local news has reported that anthrax may be found in a business here in Ogden.

I know that there are probably a lot of people who want to buy Cipro, the same ones who bought gas masks out of fear of a chemical attack. I think it's crazy. We're panicing way to much.

Has anyone noticed far too many jokes from the late night talk shows relating to the attacks? It's cliche, but should we really be joking so much about the bombings and the terrorism? (The Daily Show) Letterman and Leno take a week off, and by the end of the week, they have jokes in their monologue about them.

I don't know. I can see humor in some things (like the email floating around about fake Afghan primetime television shows) but for the most part, I think it's terrible that we are forced to get our humor right now from these attacks.

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin