November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

October 20, 2001 // 5:21 p.m. // Where there's smoke, there's stupidity.

Right now, I'm having a hard time breathing. The reason why is of course all my fault, combined with the inability on my own part to breathe in anything clean. Smoke-filled rooms really make me gag. Every word I speak sounds like I'm being cut off. It doesn't matter what type of smoke either. Cigarette, incense, fog machine, it all chokes me up.

So you can imagine my feeling when I woke up from a nap and smelled a burning smell only after I realized I was the cause.

At 3:40, I put the spaghetti in the bowl. My sister and my dad had left to the post office, and my mom had left somewhere else. The timer had been set for thirteen minutes, meaning my food would be done at about five minutes to four.

But I fell asleep.

I was watching the tail end of the Aaliyah Behind The Music when I caught myself dozing off. You know how when you lay down when you're tired and you tell yourself you won't go to sleep but you end up doing it anyway? That's what happened.

I woke up at 4:50, felt hungry and I remembered I had left the pan on for over an hour as soon as I smelled the smoke. Like they do in the cartoons when the character doesn't fall off the cliff until they look down or when they only panic when they are told what is going on. That's what it was like. I'm awake for almost five minutes, but I don't smell the smoke until I remember I was hungry.

I walk in, and I'm overcome with the strong burnt pan smell. I grabbed a towel to use as a pot holder, and took it under the sink where it made that sizzle sound when it met the water.

So now I feel I must air out the house, turn on a fan or get out of here. I'd still be able to smell it from my room with the door closed through the vent and under the door.

Just one more entry, then I'll leave.

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin