November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

October 26, 2001 // 7:15 p.m. // Another musical

Vowing not to make the same mistake twice, (or three times or four times) I made sure to confirm it when my sister said my alma matter's musical would be held the last week of October.

I arrived 15-20 minutes before the show began, just in time to see my former creative writing teacher. It's only since graduation that creative writing and her quirky ways have taken on a more important meaning.

We exchanged greetings, and I sat down in an empty row. The row behind me was soon filled with 15 10th-12th graders chattering about crushes and the lameness of school.

I enjoyed the musical ("The Boyfriend" for those of you wondering) but to be honest upon watching it once, I don't think I understood it very well. A play about class? A play about romance? I guess the only way to know for sure is to go again. Monday would likely be the only day to do that, unless I'm not sleeping at the time of the matinee tomorrow.

One thing I did notice was the talent in the drama dept. Having graduated two years ago, I only recognized two people. There are so many people who I would have been delighted to work with and who I think would have been able to teach me a lot.

During the second intermission, a girl came to the seat next to me, put her knees on the chair, and began chatting it up with the row behind me. During this time, I was waiting out the intermisison. Out of nowhere, she turns to me, slugs me fairly hard in the left shoulder, and says, "Hey, what's your name?" "Jason." "I'm Ashley. I like your hair." "Thanks." The conversation wasn't monotone, but it wasn't enthusiatic.

Only people who know you should hit you that hard. I was expecting it to be a person I knew. Of course, she was probably a freshman at the earliest when I graduated.

I'm feeling a little bit better about school. Let's just say that today was a good day.

Jason

Random Wallflowers lyric:

"I know you've been sad

I know I've been bad

But if you'll let me

Make you ribbons from a paper bag"

-Josephine

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin