November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

November 01, 2001 // 8:00 a.m. // Terrorist attacks hit close to home

Up until now, I believe I was fairly unaffected by the September 11th attacks. Sure, I've seen the same changes in the country as everyone else has, but the mayhem people can cause had not hit home.

Until today.

Actually, last weekend. While we were driving down State Street, G told me a story about how his uncle who is a motel owner in Seattle was attacked by a man who thought he was Muslim. They also attacked his son, (G's cousin) but neither were seriously injured. Only moments after telling me the story, the younger 23 year-old cousin called and told him that everything was fine.

I believed him but it wasn't confirmed until I went to Yahoo news and found the story I've linked to here.

It's a scary thought that this can happen to innocent people. He's already thought about what he'd do if someone attacked him. The fact that someone should have to live with this fear in the back of their minds is heinous. Even though he doesn't get along with his uncle, they're family. His cousin was pretty upset about it too. His father was attacked, and since the cousin that lives with G works in a convenient store, he may have worries he could be next.

But it sucks, and the September 11th backlash (from anthrax to racially motivated attacks) is really out of our hands. If only all people had a better respect for their fellow human beings.

Random Bonaduces lyric:

"And even after all we've been through We're still not sure what we should do I can't believe the cost

Assigned to what's been lost

But maybe when the cheque comes in There'll be no illusions left

And we can sort through the mess

Find a way to assess the damage done"

Damage Deposit

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin