November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

November 08, 2001 // 9:44 p.m. // Um...

Don't you just hate when you have something interesting to type, but you cannot remember any of it?

I headed up to Barnes & Noble today to pick up a book that I tried to get last night. I had remembered from my last trip to Barnes & Noble that they closed at 11, only I didn't realize that it only applied to the weekends. So I ended up driving up there with my windows stubborn to the defogger the entire time only to find out they had closed 45 minutes earlier rather than 15 minutes from the time I arrived. I'm surprised that even though I was in the same complex as the Petco, I didn't even think about the store.

After that, I drove a few blocks down the street to try to find a used copy of a CD I was having a hard time burning. Used it was $9.99. I can buy it new for only three dollars more.

From there, I made a heaping plate of macaroni and cheese, to make up for not eating dinner after the Jazz game. A short nap followed.

Minutes after I woke up, G called to ask if a package he had sent to my house arrived. It had, but neither the DVD, the case for my MP3 player or the harness for my stereo arrived. I think we're experiencing a slight slow down in the mail as of late. All of our items should have arrived almost a week ago.

Biggest surprise: Dad actually accompanied us to the Jazz game.

For as long as I can remember (maybe not quite) he's been boycotting the Jazz because of a combination of things from rising ticket prices to the security and rudeness of some of the ushers and owner Larry Miller who sold him a lemon of a car. In fact, I don't even remember him going to any game in the ten years the Delta Center has been opened. Every time I wanted to go to a playoff game or anything else, he'd pay for my ticket and sometimes my mom's and he'd drop us off. We didn't think he'd go to this one either, as it took him until the end of the first quarter to find the seats.

My sister also had a hard time finding the seats. As it turns out, it wasn't a rich friend, but free tickets that were given out at her school to the game. What surprised me was how good they were, especially for the upper bowl. We could see the whole court (like the view you see on TV but higher up) when we were expecting seats from behind the basket.

Because these seats were free, they were scattered all over the arena. My sister's ticket was in a whole other section as was my dad's. They had to enter every portal and look up to see where we were. Of course the upper bowl was so empty that we had no problem allowing them to sit with us. In fact the row in front of us was completely empty. The game wasn't bad either.

Heh. Just heard our formewr guard Jacque Vaughn had missed his first 22 shots of the season before last night.

Now he's made like 4 out of 30.

This week seemed to go by so fast. We're already (almost) at Friday and another Oddities night out.

Oh yeah, I just remembered what I planned to type about. It can wait until tomorrow.

Random Gigolo Aunts lyric:

"I see pride I see sorrow

The young hard college grad in his flat brown leisure shoes
He's gained his field's respect
But late at night he thinks of her
He left her in his college dust

The deep lined party girl's trim figure hides the truth
She had a fun decade, but now it seems that fun's reward

Is loneliness stored in a box with a wedding dress

People walk up, people walk down
They don't hear me, I don't make a sound
They fix their watches, they fix their hair
They fixed my wagon because i still care

I see problems I see questions

The former football star in his priceless college sweats
He lived for four short years and with each month
The weeks grow longer, the drinks grow stronger
As his past slowly floats away

Why do I care?

Why do I cry?

When their actions like needles draw blood from my eye
I'm one of them
They're one of me
I can't watch them suffer, but I can't set them free"

People Walk Up

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin