November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

November 12, 2001 // 4:57 p.m. // Best of times, worst of times

Let's put Saturday behind us, shall we?

Great.

I was running late, pulled up to the gas station with my mom's gas card. The first pump I tried didn't work period. The second wouldn't take her card. Finally, I paid with my own money and watched as the total grew dangerously close to the $18.64 mark, which is key because it means I can buy a Coke and the gas with a $20 bill. Since this wasn't my day, I don't think I need to tell you that the gas total was $18.66, the overall total was $20.02 and I didn't have the two cents in change. Plus I think I dropped a dollar as I walked out of the 7-11.

I'm already running late. I hop on the freeway where they recently installed traffic lights to control the flow of traffic entering the freeway. Of course I stopped when my lane was red and the guy next to me didn't. As I started to pull away, he was still going at full merge speed and almost hit me. I almost followed him but he got off att he next exit.

The bad day continued as I got on the shuttle bus. The person who got on before me got the last available seat, meaning I had to stand. The girl in front of me kept leaning back to far not unlike the attractive girl last week. Just as tall, stepping on my toes, and waving her hair in my face. It was at this time I heard about the plane crash in New York.

The rest of today has been Newton's third law personified. For those of you not familiar with it, it's "for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction."

Good: History test extended until Wednesday, meaning I didn't have to ditch Common Medicines to take it.

Bad: Planned to take the test today thinking that today was my last available day.

Good: Common Medicines canceled, meaning I could take the test without missing a class.

Bad: I had to walk across campus (uphill) only to find out the class was canceled. I then had to walk back across campus if I wanted to take the test.

Good: Means I can take the test now like I had planned. Plus, I can grab a lunch!

Bad: It's the one day I leave my identification and money in the car, meaning no test and no food unless I hop on the shuttle bus and get them from my car.

Good: I was so speedy, the shuttle was still there and I didn't have to wait for another one.

Bad: That dollar I may have lost above would've come in handy when paying for my lunch.

Good: After eating, I still have time to take the test.

Bad: As I go to take it, he still hasn't made it available.

Good: 20 minutes early for Philosophy.

Bad: Took a different route to Philosophy, causing me to get lost for almost ten of those minutes.

Good: What a coincidence. Blues Traveler comes on to give me a song to describe exactly how I feel.

"Why you wanna give me a run-around
Is it a sure-fire way to speed things up
When all it does is slow me down"

Then a string of bad things. A teacher teaching the class before the one I was in spoke of my hair in what I perceived as a less than flattering way. Karli and the other kid weren't there, leaving only Julie. When I got on the shuttle bus only one seat remained. The kid was sitting on the aisle, and for the second time today I had to stand after coming within one person of getting a seat.

Plus the Mazda I had been eyeing was sold just yesterday, and the Mazda at the dealership down the street that I was attracted to belonged to a customer or employee and was not a part of the lot.

I guess hearing Jewel, Alanis Morissette and Hootie and the Blowfish on the radio can cancel out all of the bad. Well, most.

Random Jewel lyric:

"I was thinking that I might fly today
Just to disprove all the things that you say
It doesn't take a talent to be mean
You words can crush things that are unseen

So please be careful with me, I'm sensitive
And I'd like to stay that way"

I'm Sensitive

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin