November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

November 20, 2001 // 9:29 a.m. // T.E.N.T. song story

I wrote and recorded a song about T.E.N.T. that I made the mistake of putting in my mp3 player under an alias that my friends know. As they approached artists such as the Beastie Boys, I could tell they were getting ever closer to the song, and I knew they'd click on it once they saw it. Suddenly I heard the opening piano, and I knew I was sunk. They were going to rip me a new one. Six minutes later, they told me that they actually liked the song and told me I didn't do a bad job in producing it.

"Who did you write the song about?"

(using her real name) "T.E.N.T."

"What does T.E.N.T. stand for?" When B said this, at least (or as he would say, "ak least") he said 'T.E.N.T.' as an acronym rather than 'tent' like Britt and the crew and various other editors of a past school literary magazine who should know better.

I told them that I started off writing about T.E.N.T. but that the rest of the song is generic. If they would have listened closer to it both times they played it, they would have known that there is no doubt that it's about her.

It's weird. They know her by her real name and not as T.E.N.T. You know her as T.E.N.T. and not by her real name. Explaining the alias to them wouldn't be easy without exposing the diary or going into some huge ridiculous story about what each letter stands for and why.

Then they got on my case, because they think I emailed her the song. Why in the world would I even visit BYU's website, let alone talk to her? It's done between the two of us. She had her chance to apologize and make things right, but she didn't do it.

Yes, a useless entry, but it's one more thing I remembered and forgot to include.

Jason

For the record, the entire Motherland album applies to this entry.

Random Natalie Merchant lyric:

"Where in the hell can you go
Far from the things that you know
Far from the sprawl of concrete
That keeps crawling its way
About 1,000 miles a day?
Take one last look behind
Commit this to memory and mind

Don't miss this wasteland
This terrible place
When you leave
Keep your heart off your sleeve."

Motherland

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin