November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

November 24, 2001 // 7:01 p.m. // Just talk

I went to see the musical "Anything Goes" on Tuesday. Though I was familiar with a few of the songs, I had never seen it before. It's a funny musical. I can only imagine how great it'd be if performed by professional actors. The entire musical takes place on a boat, and many of the extras are the funniest part about the show. It must have been written around the 50's, but it has a very modern appeal to it. There's also that "I Love Lucy" feel with some of the jokes and situations.

What was the worse thing about it was I had planned on going with my sister. She was already at her school (where it was shown) assisting in basketball practice drills when she called asking me to bring her class Vice President sweater so she could get in to the wrestling event for free. I figured she meant for me to bring it when I planned to leave the house 30 minutes later, but she meant now. So instead of leaving at 6:15, I left at 5:45, and walked around the school until 6:30 when I found her. And what does she tell me after carrying her itchy wool sweater around for 45 minutes?

"I told mom to tell you not to come, and that I'd pay to get in."

So I had just wasted the last hour walking around the school when she was in watching the wrestling event the entire time. Later, she tried to get in the play for free by having it.

Remember that $50 mom gave us to split at the swap meet on Sunday? It appears that neither mom nor dad have any knowledge of giving her money. She may have stolen it (again) but not from me, as all of my money is accounted for.

I didn't get any of that early morning Xmas shopping in on Thursday. I had a flat tire that stranded me all day. On Friday as I was leaving to get it fixed, I ran out of gas for the second time in a couple of weeks. I was across the street from the tire repair place, but decided to drive home after succesfully starting the car. I coasted half way down our street before stopping for good four houses away.

It's still snowing at this point, as it had been for nearly 36 hours. It's cold, and as I'm pouring what's left in the gas can into another funnel-like container to make it easier to pour into the tank (which didn't work) and spilling gas in the sink in the process, my mom is telling me to wake dad. I, not wanting to bother him, say no, and decide to pump up the tire on my sister's frozen bike and to drive in the cold to the local gas station.

"You can't ride out there in the snow. There's ice."

"I used to ride to Wal-Mart in the cold when I was in eighth grade."

"Then I didn't know about it."

Sure she didn't. She gave me permission to go.

She wakes him up, and it's too late. He takes me to the gas station (where gas is down to $1.16 per gallon) and fills up the can. I immediately went to get gas and my tire repaired.

I found out later that there was a huge tear in the tire in a scene reminiscent of two weeks ago when I was told my stereo was faulty and I'd have to buy a new one. So I spent a total of $66 on the tire, told my parents who gave me $50 to "reimburce me" for it. I then left, returned my stereo and blew $42 of the $50 given to me on CD's.

We hung out yesterday. More on that later tonight or tomorrow depending on if we do anything tonight.

Random Natalie Merchant lyric:

People struggle, people fight
For the simple pleasures in their life
The trouble comes from everywhere
It's a little more than you can bear

I know that it will hurt
I know that it will break your heart
The way things are
The way they've been

And the way they've always been

People shallow, self-absorbed
See them push and shove for their rewards
When I, me, mine is on their minds
You can read about it in their eyes"

Break Your Heart

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin