November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

November 28, 2001 // 9:21 p.m. // Wasn't a bad day

My friends always get on my case because when I say "I don't care where we go to eat," they snap back that it's up to me to make a decision. On the rare occasion that I make a suggestion, it's not voted down, but shot down. So needless to say when I said we should go to Wendy's (we were within three miles of five of them) they didn't respond and instead took Jesse's suggestion of Cafe Trang.

I realize I'm a picky eater. Just yesterday I threw away a plate of spaghetti because we were out of paper plates. Yeah, yeah, there are starving kids in Indiana, I shouldn't waste food. I've eat off of paper plates my whole life, there's no need to start with the real dishes now. The only thing worse than eating off of plates is eating from those styrofoam picnic/barbeque plates. Both my sister and I get the same chills most get when fingers are scratched on a chalkboard when a fork is scraped on either type of plate.

It gets worse. At home, I only eat off of forks and spoons with a certain pattern. We only have three or four left, and my mom knows when she makes dinner for me occasionally which utensils to use. Plus if those three or four are dirty, I find the least dirty and scrub and clean it until it looks clean.

Anyway, my total at Wendy's is usually $5.68 and at Cafe Trang it came to $7.80 plus tip yesterday, by far the largest total of the four of us and I had the least amount of food having ordered only the sweet and sour chicken. They even got drinks and combo meals for less than $7.00. I came to a conclusion while eating that sweet and sour chicken tastes the same no matter where you eat.

For the third time in a month, we went to the mall an hour before it closed. In fact stores were closing around us as we were buying beanies in Foot Locker. The four of us looked ridiculous in the restaurant and the car.

The best part of all was the dinner conversation. We reminisced about high school and junior high which I didn't get at all sick of. I love to reminisce even about stuff that happened only two years ago. Everyone expressed that they felt they weren't challenged in high school and Jesse and G even expressed a little distain toward their final years. That's why G graduated early. I could have done the same but I wouldn't have missed my senior year for the world.

On the way home, Jesse was off and on his cell phone with Tweety. I've seen more than a friendship ever since my senior year, but both deny anything more. It's a weird thing. First I crush on Tweety, then I find out the next day she's dating a former best friend who works at the Ms. Fields at the mall we were at yesterday. We have the same taste in music and a few other girls, it's no surprise he was dating Tweety. Then I see two-way flirting between she and B, she and G and she and Jesse when we went bowling last year. I tried to appear comfortable around her, but every time I looked (and continue to look) at her I saw my junior year biology class and the corny note G wrote and gave her.

Apparently there's a whole other social circle those three are participating in without me because there were dozens of things brought up that were known only by them. Two people on separate occasions recognized them at the mall yesterday but didn't know me. I'm seriously beginning to wonder.

So we finished the night by dropping Jesse off at Tweety's, who happens to have a huge 18 foot snowman made out of PVC pipe and $50 in Christmas lights on their front lawn. I'll get a picture of it soon. We picked him up at his house but dropped him off at her house? And he's saying "I love you" on the phone? Friends indeed.

I have 8 pages to write and type tomorrow for two reports that may help pull up my grade ever so slightly in the classes I'm failing. I should have finished one today, but instead I was busy producing an instrumental for a song that I couldn't find an instrumental of. I have not yet written it, but I'm basing everything around the chorus with the lyrics,

We were trying so hard
So hard to survive
Even though we were young
We had to stay strong

No matter what we went through
It was me and my crew
And that's how it went
When we were kids.

Whether I'm writing the song or typing my report, expect to see me slaving over a computer all day tomorrow.

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin