November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

December 12, 2001 // 4:52 p.m. // Driving in cars to potential jobs

While looking throught the car ads with dad, I stumbled across a 1998 Intrepid for less than $7,000. "Something most be wrong with it." my brain immediately told me. The last time I underpaid for a car, the transmission was shot. (Sorry about that Brita, but we got you a new one.) I still wanted to check the car out. Not only is it 30-40 miles away, but the paper I was looking at was dated October 19th.

Can someone tell me why we have the automotive section from two weeks ago still around the house?

Can someone tell me why when I looked at today's paper the car was still listed? It must be junk, but I may go up to look at it tomorrow.

I put in an application at the new Wal-Mart in West Jordan. I totally wasn't prepared and couldn't remember an employer's last name or phone number. I also didn't know the number or address of the Utah Museum of Natural History, but felt like writing, "if you want me to drive you there I can." I've never had to call them, and all I knew were the first three digits from an earlier visit to the phone book.

It gets worse. Unaware of the employers phone numbers (one of whom I talked to yesterday) I just listed both G and B and their home phone numbers. Hey, don't look at me like that. Who could put in a better word for me than the two people who want me to get the job the most?

Anyway, if Wal-Mart doesn't want me or if I'm deemed not "Wal-Mart material", I'll just take my act elsewhere. Like the movie theater that just opened. Or the other retail stores. Perhaps even Sam's Club, all in the same new complex. But I doubt they'd hire me, being owned by Wal-Mart and all. I can picture the Sam's Club guys saying "So, does that Jason Taylor know anymore on your application than ours?" I bet only one of every 20 people who applied would refuse to work on Sunday though.

I'm hoping I can make up for it in the interview section or the talent competition. If it comes down to a swimsuit though, I'm screwed.

It looks like dad'll get the loan and the car. It is nice, I'll admit, but it's still a Wrangler. It's a twenty-something's vehicle. What better vehicle to buy than the off-road vehicle of choice for all of the Moab off-roading competitions? It has that Moab feel, complete with touristy decals saying Moab. And since my dad is from Moab, I think the decal was the clincher. The ditsy woman named Hillary called twice in less than maybe five minutes. Maybe she forgot she called. Nothing against the name Hillary. It's just that sometimes they have the tendency to be a little left of the middle. Or they stand by their man as an intern kneels below the waist of their man. I had a better euphemism for blowjob, but alas, I forgot it.

Don't mind me. I'm still plugging along in my Taurus.

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin