November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

December 13, 2001 // 5:41 p.m. // Salt Lake City: As Olympic as we wanna be

Because my parents are closing on the car tomorrow, there won't be time to drive to see the car I want. Plus, I found two other cars I like that I want to check out. It looks like Saturday will be the earliest. If I did get a car, this would be the time to do it, since I don't have to drive to school until January. If not, I'd have to sell my old car, get approved, and buy a new one all in a two day span, as I would need a car to drive the 30 miles each way to school.

I picked up my mom from work today. She was just wrapping up dealing with one of her preschool students. She's a natural. I've never seen anyone work with anyone, let alone children the way she does. I have a whole new respect for her.

My sister and her friends rented a limo for a dance on Saturday. Since she's planning it, she's going to be the one who will get screwed out of money. They need to come up with the $308 by tomorrow, and if each of her friends cannot come up with the $25 or so dollars each, she'll have to pay the difference. It'll be the first dance of the year without her boyfriend, but I guess it's okay since he already drove the 300 miles each way (just to stay two days) twice in less than three weeks in September and October. They haven't broke up or anything. They did spend four days in St. George together and went on a side trip to Vegas. I've never been to Vegas. I wanna go to Vegas!

I've never been to California either. I haven't left the state in more than a year, and have only left the state on five different occasions to go to Phoenix, Denver, Wyoming (Yellowstone), Grand Canyon and a little of Idaho basically just to turn around.

This'll be the last weekend The Oddities have to hang out before two of them head to San Diego. That would be a fun trip, but for years I've been making up excuses on why I couldn't go camping or on a trip with them. I really want to take a trip by myself first. I think that'd be fun. I'm not friends with Jesse like I am with G and B. Also, we're going there to pick up Domo, who I'm also not really friends with. Plus, a trip by myself means doing whatever the hell I want for no reason. If I feel like playing the Spice Girls or Britney Spears CD on a whim, I can. If I'm in the middle of the desert and decide to pull over to dance on the roof like Michael Jackson, ala the "Black Or White" video, I can.

It all comes down to the freedom.

I can tolerate sleeping in the car. If it means saving $45 a night to buy souvenirs, to do things or to shop at the places we don't have here, (I've never seen the inside of a Best Buy let alone a Tower Records) it's well worth it. I'd love to semi live my life out of a suitcase.

I'm not in on the Olympic trip either. Who would want to leave a city that for two weeks (and probably a few weeks before and after) is the center of the world? I'm slowly realizing that Salt Lake personifies everything the Olympic committee loves. It's small, beautiful and full of naive people. But I do not think that we are a city growing in such a way that we need two light rail tracks, two Abercrombie & Fitch's, a downtown more that a few square blocks long.

In an unrelated story, how lame is it that our local news has turned into Entertainment Tonight (which starts in an hour) by leading with a Winona Rider theft story complete with live coverage of a press conference? Leading with this before the second biggest story of the year (Osama speaks!) is ridiculous. In fact, this was only the third story five minutes into the broadcast on one local channel (*cough*ABC*cough*.) I also find it ridiculous that a lot of the stories about minorities are covered by the station's only two minority reporters.

Next they'll be counting down the days until the Olympics and telling us where the torch is everyday.

What? You mean they're already doing that?

By the way, they just left Texas and we have 56 days left.

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin