November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

December 26, 2001 // 9:46 p.m. // 06: Mystic Cuts For Luck And Scars For Freedom

06

Mystic

Cuts For Luck And Scars For Freedom

Release date: July 31, 2001

Perhaps the best thing I can say about Mystic is her lyrics are more literature than music. Every time I listen to this album or read the lyrics, I notice something new. There isn't a verse that doesn't evoke some sort of emotion. It definitely gets my vote for the most emotional album of the year. In fact upon listening to it right now, it may find its way in a higher chart position in the next few days.

Mystic's Sade-like voice and slow delivery of her meaningful lyrics about not having a father around, life in the inner city, saying goodbye, unrequited love, true love, feeling inspired, uninspired and lost are a new breath into the world of hip hop where many spew out lyrics about silly things just to sell records. Few are able to leave themselves as vulnerable as she on their first album. Many become popular and change their style to that of their new richer lifestyle. I don't see that happening with Mystic. She's on a small independent label and even with her video being played a few times on each of the three major video stations, I don't see her ever leaving the pain behind. As much as she shares on this album, she's only begun to scratch the surface of informing us about who she is.

"The Life", a dedication of sorts, is an inspiring song with a summery chorus.

"This is for eyes that cry like yours and learn to smile again
Rise above the pain
This is for you and your crew
The ones that's true will always love you no matter what you do"

"This is for those who stand in line to feed their babies
While we're running out of time
This is for the injustice behind bars
Our lovers, our leaders, our people"

The tearjerker on the album is "Fatherless Child". Mystic finds the perfect words and pieces them together to make a can't-take-yourself-away-from-it story about not having a father around and how her life and her actions were influenced by a man who wasn't with her. She begins the song by speaking over a light piano saying, "so this song is for him, and to him, and for all the fatherless children in the world, the mother's who raised us, the people who love us"

"1997, you called my home
from telegraph and 43rd for the child you never owned
I told you to come by Adam came to help me
You were homeless and drunk but not lookin' unhealthy
We sat for hours, I asked you every question
We sat on my porch and discussed life's lessons
You said you'd never leave again, so I released my fears
1999, tryin' to sign my deal
Ten years of hard work, finally becomin' real
So I brush you off, writin' songs for a movie
That was the last time I saw you, forgive me truly
The day my deal was done, you died
Wit the needle in your arm, and angels by your side
And I miss you, tattooed it on my back
Fatherless child, fade to black"

What I meant to say (What real reviewers said:) Mystic isn't afraid to attack shallow materialism or dangerously nihilistic behaviors but doesn't limit herself to spending the whole album preaching - although one suspects the album would be almost as enjoyable if she did. Mystic covers a broad range of subjects, such as a non-pressure relationship on the sly "Once a Week", the paranoia and loneliness of a hustler on "D Boy" and Mystic's own hopes for a more blessed life on "A Dream." You can't deny her presence and charisma, no matter the subject - and you can't doubt her talent when she refuses to play a role or be pigeonholed in her musical vision. The biggest surprise is that for half the money, Mystic's album is worth three times the price; and even if it's not still on sale at your local store of choice you owe it to yourself to buy this album. Mystic is that true rarity among female rappers - dope with no gimmicks. MC Lyte's words will haunt the wannabe Foxy Brown's and Lil' Kim's of the world when this album is played. Their skimpy outfits and underweight lyrics truly seem "Paper Thin" compared to Mystic.

Steve "Flash" Juon

2001 honors: Independent album of the year, Cuts For Luck And Scars For Freedom (The Source)

Singles: "The Life"

Also check out the sad songs "Fatherless Child", "Fallen Angels"

the happier songs "Ghetto Birds", "Girlfriend Sistagirl", "W", "Destiny Complete"

and the love songs: "Neptune's Jewels", "You Say, I Say"

Also sounds like: Common, Jill Scott, Sade.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin