November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

January 01, 2002 // 11:11 p.m. // Who needs a resolution?

It's weird to see "2002" at the top of my entry.

If I had to chose a driving album for a holiday (because it seems like the holidays are the only times I get out and drive around) it'd have to be Texas' White On Blonde. Another must have album but from 1995.

As much as I doubted it, the stroke of midnight for me was spent with a girl after all. A former crush, but a crush nonetheless. Don't get too excited. It's not at all what you think.

At ten, we went bowling, and I didn't have to drive for an unprecedented second night. For the second time in three days, B drove his mom's Bravada, a vehicle that has just replaced a Jeep Grand Cherokee as my favorite SUV.

The plan: Bowling. Unlike Saturday, we didn't go to the big bowling alley on State Street. Instead, we chose the small unpopular hidden alley a few blocks west of it. They had a deal where for $12.00 a person, you could bowl from 8-12 as many games as you wanted. Unfortunately, we arrived at 10:30 and you couldn't bowl at that alley unless you bought the package. We left, and headed to the bigger alley.

It wasn't just me, B and G however. Jesse and Tweety (the girl mentioned that I spent the new year with) came and bowled with us, much like they did last January.

You all remember the story don't you? I crush on Tweety, G writes a corny note for her, gives her a stuffed Tweety with candy with the note from me and the next night I go to a dance and see her with one of my best friends and put two and two together. Needless to day, since I accidentally asked out his girl, he has not spoke to me to this day.

Another thing: The four of them are closer than I think I am with any one of them. At least they behave that way. This is why I may have said only a few words to Jesse the whole night (I did send him a text message with my phone) and only talked to Tweety once. In fact, this was our conversation:

"Hi Jason. How are you?"

"Fine."

"Are you going to school?"

"Yeah."

"SLCC, the U?"

"Weber State."

(sounding interested) "Oh."

And this is the girl who they want me to hook up with? She and Jesse would make a great couple no matter what anyone says. They behaved like a couple at the bowling alley, too.

No sooner had we picked our balls from the limited selection, the obligatory and same ol' bet was suggested. You know the one. We bowl two games, the loser of the first game can only avoid streaking if they win the second game. If you lose the second game, it's all over.

Now, I really dislike bets. I'm not gutsy, so bets to me are like choosing 'dare' in a Truth Or Dare game. And I really dislike being naked unless I absolutely have to be. So they came up with an expensive alternative for me. If I lost, I'd have to buy the four other people dinner.

At least I wouldn't have to run naked on a busy slippery street in 15 degree weather.

In the first game, Tweety and Jesse tied. Since Tweety is a girl, Jesse techincally 'lost', thus raising the question, if a girl is exempt from the bet and has nothing to lose, why must I? Why have the bet at all?

Jesse went on to lose the next game, which saw me bowl two strikes and nine pins in the final frame. He delayed streaking until warm weather or until we forget, whichever comes first.

Backtracking a bit, I really didn't like bowling. The black light was distracting, and the music played to B's advantage. With the exception of the first two songs being by Destiny's Child, the next eight to ten were vintage Beastie Boys followed by a few from Dru Hill. The DJ was lame too. He must've confused us for a club or a concert, because he kept asking us questions as if he were introducing the next band to come on stage at Woodstock. When he asked what our new year's resolutions were, one guy said aloud "kicking your ass!"

"You're too skinny to do that," the DJ responded. And it was like that all night, as he rang in the new year, (where Jesse and Tweety kissed) by flirting with a few girls.

So yeah. He thinks he's cool, but he's making $6.00 an hour standing behind a counter with a microphone while everyone else is celebrating the year anywhere more fun than he is.

As for resolutions, I resolve to make resolutions only to break them mid March.

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin