May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

January 10, 2002 // 1:11 p.m. // *shudders* Macy Gray

So we've established it's not fair for people to wait hours in the 20 degree weather to get the best tickets, but it's also not fair for people to haul their ass down at 9:30 and because of the lethal lottery get a better spot in line.

Case in point: me. I waited for two hours in line on Monday, kept a ratty wristband on my wrist for three days to get wristband number 31, only to have someone who came along at approx. an hour after I did get a chance to get tickets and to have people in line 20 minutes after I was get first shot at tickets.

You see, things didn't work like I told you. Instead, all 100 people with wristbands got tickets to a concert. It may not have been their first choice. I got stuck with Macy Gray, who decided to rub it in by singing "I Try" over the speaker system of the store.

The other tickets were for Dave Matthews Band, Foo Fighters, Barenaked Ladies and an unnamed band that'll likely be U2 or something, causing all of those people who got tickets after we did to deservedly laugh collectively in our faces.

But Jason, you still haven't told us what happened!

OK, here it goes.

My wristband number was 31. The "random number" chosen "for our store only" where they began the line was 45. This meant number 45 was the new number one and everyone lined up behind them. Since I was number 31, I was the new number 86. I wonder why they can't just start the line at wristband number 1 and go in the order they were distributed. I guess SLOC and SmithTix get their jollies off of watching us bitch at them and amongst ourselves.

On top of this, they snipped the wristband I obtained from a different store off of my wrist, saying I can't have two different wristbands even if they are for two different events on two different days.

That means my chances of seeing Sheryl Crow, Smash Mouth or even *shudders* Creed have gone out the window because I got *shudders* Macy Gray tickets.

Things would be so much better if they just took the first 100 people in line and let you go to more than one concert/medals ceremony.

All of this happened before 8:00. The rest of the day has been just as downhill for me. Maybe I'll get to it later.

Jason

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie