May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

January 13, 2002 // 1:30 a.m. // Double Life

This was a song I started writing about T.E.N.T. at the end of last year. I finished the bridge and the final verses in about ten minutes this morning, after having such a hard time with it three weeks ago. Suddenly the song popped into my head, and what I had applied to T.E.N.T. fit better with a revelation that I really shouldn't reveal, but will do so later today anyway.

Since it was your choice to make
and it was my heart to break
I decided that it's over after all
You could never be more perfect
I could never be more worthless
And the hot air's blowin' me against the wall

When you held back the stories
I kept both my eyes closed
I want what we all want, the truth
It's what you won't give me
You can't seem to see it
Embarrassment's all right in your youth

Chorus:

But I fight back yet again
while your mind fights a struggle within
And the games that are played are revealed
On your sleeve is discovered the shield
Double life lived yet again
One is right and the other is grim
But the shame you don't have is revealed
I've unraveled the plan that is sealed

It was once a down low secret
when you tried so hard to keep it
Tongues are slippery like the back side of
The tape that you spouted we now live without it
double meanings whole new meanings of love

When the pen hit the paper
The quotes like a stapler
Fastened your fate to your facade
The trouble was losing when you thought you were winning
At play time did you play that you were God?

Chorus:

And we fight back yet again
While our minds fight a struggle within
And the games that are played are revealed
On your sleeve is discovered the shield
Double life lived yet again
One is right and the other is grim
But the shame you don't have is revealed
I've unraveled the plan that is sealed

Red faced girls you remember who knew you for you
when the rest of your life was a million times two

Things were tough at an age when we all find our way
And as tough as it was then it's tougher today

When we must fight back yet again
While our minds fight a struggle within
And the games that are played are revealed
On your sleeve is discovered the shield
Double life lived yet again
One is right and the other is grim
But the shame you don't have is revealed
I've unraveled the plan that is sealed

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie