May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

January 30, 2002 // 3:29 p.m. // Brrrrrrrr!

No matter what network you watched, you would have seen that it was a cold, cold morning in Salt Lake. In fact, it was so cold, that I woke up at 3 this morning for that very reason. When my mom woke me up at 5:15, she gave me a disclaimer she's never had to give me:

"I woke you up early because it's really, really cold outside."

My thought in my barely awake state: How cold could it be? 10 degrees?

As soon as I went outside, I felt the temperature. It was as if I was standing on top of a mountain. It was a very dry cold that instantly hurt my hands.

After waking up fully, I realized something else. I'd be driving to Ogden where the current temperature was only 1 degree, making it perhaps the coldest temperature that I have ever remembered and ventured out in.

And then I began feeling sorry for people like Tiffany that I knew in Logan where the temperature was 24 below zero.

-24. I complain in 9 or 10 degree weather. To have a temperature 35 degrees below that...I praise my fellow Utahns for braving the cold.

And for those of you with highs in the 60's, 70's or 80's, I ask not for your pity, but an explanation as to how can you live with yourselves?

Jason

P.S. Look for a Salt Lake in pictures: Olympic edition in the next few days. This of course depends on if I can wrestle the digital camera away from dad for a day.

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie