May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

February 12, 2002 // 3:49 p.m. // The Roots part 1

Yesterday was a day full of events in which I wanted a camera, but didn't have one. For starters:

* My car hit 110,000 miles. If I had remembered to bring my Jiffy Lube coupon with me, I would have jetted straight over to get my oil changed right about the time it turned over to 110,000. As it stood, my car hit 110,009 miles at the time of my oil change.

I fell asleep after I got home, and didn't wake up until 7:42. I don't know how, but at that time, I woke up and remembered I had tickets to The Roots concert, and without so much as a lengthy explanation to my parents, rushed out the door and drove in the general direction of the concert which was scheduled to begin in 15 minutes. That normally would be no big deal, but that little thing called the Olympics made traffic a little rougher than usual.

I actually made it downtown in record time even after turning the wrong way on a one way street and having to circle around a block. After paying for parking, I ran south in the direction of the venue, and made it a half an hour before the show. I'll go into detail in my next entry, but let me say that this was the most energetic and perhaps the best concert I have ever been to.

Right now, I'm mentally preparing myself for standing outside for upwards of seven hours to wait in line to get into the Medals Plaza as well as the festivities. I hope my cold doesn't develop any further. Right now, my throat is sore, but that's about it, likely due to wearing only two layers yesterday and walking downtown for an hour with no head warmth and minimal layers (You had to try to be cool, Jason.)

You may even see me on TV. If I am, I won't point me out, but will only say I was on.

I don't see why everyone is making a huge deal about three Americans medalling in the men's half pipe in snowboarding. Think about that. It's snowboarding! I didn't even know other countries competed. I thought it was a field of seven or eight Americans and one Canuck.

Speaking of our friends up north, I think the skating pair of Jamie Sale and David Pelletier were far too kind about their loss. They gave such beauty pageant answers. Every interview they've given thus far have been like this:

Interviewer: "Jamie, be honest. Are you really upset about the loss?"

Jamie Sale: (thinks) "Well, I wouldn't say 'upset,' but it's such an honor to be here."

I: "Didn't you expect to win?"

JS: "Well, we did win. We won the silver medals. That's a victory in my book."

And on, and on, and on. It seemed like a very Canadian approach to things. Not quite the catalyst, but more the friend who sits and watches as two others bicker without getting involved.

I've insulted an entire country. I have nowhere to go but down from here.

Jason

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie