May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

February 21, 2002 // 9:13 a.m. // An old friend

B and G flaked out on me as far as heading downtown yesterday. Not one to let them hold me back, I drove through the maze of cordoned off streets to park as close to downtown as I possibly could, exiting my car at about 10:30 last night.

I had only been walking for 1 1/2 blocks, when walking the opposite direction was my friend from high school, Martha and her sister Jayel (sp).

Martha and I were never particularly close. She spent more of her time flirting with two other members of the group to care about me. She and my sister hung out sometimes, and affectionately came to call each other Martha Stewart and Amelia Bedilia respectively. She only attended our school for one year, transferring when her family moved. She still stayed close with the group, but we rarely ever hung out after she moved. For her birthday two years ago, we went to a hypnotist show and she was the only one on stage not under hypnosis.

Martha has the distinction of being the only person I know who is able to sense who I have a crush on. She even knows who I'm crushing on before I realize it sometimes. She's even a matchmaker. Just one day after the whole asking-out Tweety-and-then-seeing-her-at-a-dance- with-a-best-friend-I-didn't-know-she- was-dating when I asked her, she really gave me a boost by telling me I was a good leader when I danced (one thing I do think I'm good at) and she may or may not have arranged for a girl named Jen to dance with me.

I'm off topic. That day needs a journal entry.

So Martha was always able to bring my mood up through unconventional ways. It had been nearly two years since I had seen her last, and I was surprised she recognized me.

Thankfully she brought my spirit up again just by being there. She complimented me on my hair multiple times and even felt it and watched as it sprung back up when she touched it.

I also got a mini update on the former crew's lives. Apparently she still talks to Britt, doesn't know what happened to Jeremy and told me that Glenn and his wife just had their first baby about two weeks ago. I still can't believe that Glenn's married. And that he has a kid. He doesn't even turn 20 until May. This was the same kid who would do it all to fit in, most notably by getting involved in theft from his friends. He's a good kid though, but just a kid.

I don't see how I missed getting the invite to his wedding. We're neighbors. He knows I still live in the same house. He's the only person I've hung out with on a consistent basis since seventh grade.

But who was the first person Martha talked about?

T.E.N.T.

The jezzebel, or if you're a South Park fan, a succubus. I don't need to recall all that she's put me through, but if you want a good indication, just watch the movie or read the book Great Expectations. Hell, read it anyway. It's a great book.

But anyway, she had talked to T.E.N.T. three hours prior to that, and she's in Salt Lake for Olympic break. I think she was hinting at a meeting. I'm still upset that I didn't berate her more when I had the chance. Oh wait. Now I know why. It was because everyone immediately took her side in every argument I had, and far be it from me to call her out on all of the things she's done in front of my gracious date at my senior prom or in front of the drama kids. I wasn't in the greatest standing at the time, and to rip into a "beloved member" would have pushed me right back don to the bottom rung.

Besides, I had written this letter to her only months before.

And it hurt. And I've never told anyone this. That I had not planned to go to my own senior prom because she was the only person I could imagine myself going with from my junior year on. When she returned and was asked immediately by Glenn's younger brother, it almost motivated me to go even more.

Going with her wouldn't work. It could never work. She had let herself change.

Sheesh. Now I'm almost paraphrasing My So-Called Life episodes.

The rest of the night? Very warm, a lot of walking, a lot of foreign languages, dignitaries, Canadians especially. If you are reading Martha, I took your advice. I was careful, not only on the slippery sidewalks, but on the "mean" streets of Salt Lake.

And by the way, I forgot to wish you a happy 19th birthday, which I believe was either yesterday or the day before.

Jason

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie