November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

February 29, 2004 // 9:39 p.m. // Stealing a survey.

I got exactly halfway through this and then lost it. What's worse is I said, "I should save this" and didn't. At least I could have preserved some of it.

I found this on someone's diary, who borrowed it from someone's diary who borrowed it from someone's diary...you get it.

1. Your favorite song with the name of a city in the title or text.

>>>The only city song I can even think of right now is "Cleveland" by Jewel, but I'll bend the rules slightly and pick "British Columbia" by The Elected. I also secretly like Hole's "Malibu."

2. A song you've listened to repeatedly when you were depressed at some point in your life.

>>>"Wish You Were Here" by The Get Up Kids. When I sang the line, "if I won't wait for another year, I guess you'll break my heart" at their 2002 concert, it was almost cathartic.

3. Ever bought an entire album just for one song and wound up disliking everything but that song? Gimme that song.

>>>I did that just a few weeks ago. I bought Denali's The Instinct because I liked "Hold Your Breath." I cannot get into anything but that song. But I went through too much trouble to get the whole band to sign the CD, so it won't go on ebay anytime soon.

4. A song whose lyrics you thought you knew in the past, but about which you later learned you were incorrect.

>>>I was never serious about this, but in Janet Jackson's "Doesn't Really Matter" I'd always sing, "'cause I'm in love with a human being" or, "'cause I'm in love with the enemy" when the real line was, "cause I'm in love with the inner being." It sounds like anything but the real line. I also thought A Flock Of Seagulls sang, "and Iran, Iran's so far away." I could give you a whole list if you gave me five minutes.

5. Your least favorite song on one of your favorite albums of all time.

>>>"Hail To Whatever..." on Rilo Kiley's last album and "Hope It Felt Good" on Nikka Costa's album. I simply cannot listen to these songs.

6. A song you like by someone you find physically unattractive or otherwise repellent.

>>>This is so mean, I almost wasn't going to answer it. Maybe Mary Lou Lord's "Seven Sisters." I'm seeing her play this Wednesday, so maybe I won't find her physically unattractive.

7. Your favorite song that has expletives in it that's not by Liz Phair.

>>>And I can't pick my favorite Liz Phair song? Then I choose the feelgood hit of the year, 50 Cent's "In Da Club."

8. A song that sounds as if it's by someone British but isn't.

>>>"I Love You" by The Dandy Warhols. They're from Oregon, but I think they think they're British.

9. A song you like (possibly from your past) that took you forever to finally locate a copy of.

>>>Tons of them. The one that sticks out is "Blister In The Sun" by The Violent Femmes. I didn't know the title or artist so I couldn't look it up.

10. A song that reminds you of spring but doesn't mention spring at all.

>>>"If You Fall" by Azure Ray.

11. A song that sounds to you like being happy feels.

>>>Dressy Bessy's Pink Hearts Yellow Moons album. More specifically, the song, "Jenny, Come On."

12. Your favorite song from a non-soundtrack compilation album.

>>>Clem Snide's "I Don't Want To Set The World On Fire" from the Starbucks Valentine 2004 exclusive Sweetheart album. It also has a Aimee Mann cover on it that's not bad and a cover of "Tonight You Belong To Me" from The Steve Martin movie, The Jerk.

13. A song from your past that would be considered politically incorrect now (and possibly was then).

>>>I had an answer and then changed it on the spot to either Nirvana's "Rape Me" Jill Sobule's "I Kissed A Girl" or Joan Osborne's "One Of Us." People still have issues with One Of Us, despite it being nine years old and the theme to a hit TV show.

14. A song sung by an overweight person.

>>>This is so wrong number two: Blues Traveler's (John Popper) "Run-Around."

15. A song you actually like by an artist you otherwise hate.

>>>"Swiss Army Romance" by Dashboard Confessional.

16. A song by a band (whose members actually play instruments) that features three or more female members.

>>>"Old Timer" by that dog.

17. One of the earliest songs that you can remember listening to.

>>>"Saved The Best For Last" by Vanessa Williams. I remember being nine or so and always listening to this song that I had recorded off of the radio on a cheap little tape recorder.

18. A song you've been mocked by friends for liking.

>>>What song haven't I been mocked for liking? I remember a kid in my drama class telling me to "pick a real band" when I told him I had a Cardigans CD in my CD player. I never forgave him. I don't remember being teased for these, but I like(d) Eve 6's "Here's To The Night" as well as Vitamin C's "Smile" and Len's "Steal My Sunshine."

19. A really good cover version you think no one else has heard.

>>>Oh, here's where I shine. Very few have heard Some Girls "Only Love Can Break Your Heart" (Neil Young) which is purely amazing. The Long Winters "Don't Tell Me" (Madonna) is excellent, but my two favorites are Rilo Kiley's "Simply Irresistible" (Robert Plamer) and Tilly & The Wall's "Hey Ya." (Outkast) Their version makes me want to learn guitar.

20. A song that has helped cheer you up (or empowered you somehow) after a breakup or otherwise difficult situation.

>>>Easy one here. "Special" by Garbage.

21. A song not in English�preferably a foreign-language version of an English-language hit.

>>>Off the top of my head, I can't think of any. So I offer this:

Purely foreign originals:

"Fleur De Lys" Juliana Hatfield,

Double the language, double the fun:

Nena, "99 Luftballoons"

Queen, "Teo Toriatte (Let Us Cling Together)"

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin