November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

June 09, 2003 // 5:35 p.m. // Cute girl at ten o'clock...and two o'clock...and two days later.

So you see a girl that you think is super cute and for six hours off and on between conversations with a return missionary who is reading Harry Potter and an LDS prophet or president's autobiography, a Sunday school teacher, a woman with a fabric puppet resembling a fish (which she also did the voice for) decorated in Utah Jazz memorabilia and Olympic pins, a girl named "Bug", a good church-going girl with an Eminem 8 Mile t-shirt, two ex-classmates...

So in the midst of this, I spend six hours off and on looking at this cute girl at the front of the line who looks like a former crush and that has captivated my attention all afternoon.

Surprise, surprise, I don't talk to her. Even after these strangers offer to talk to her for me. There's something about a 35+ year-old woman with a slender memorabilia-covered homemade eighteen inch fish wearing a homemeade Jazz uniform, a hat and glasses offering to talk to a cute girl for me that just didn't seem ok.

So the girl is the first inside and I assume it's just another blown opportunity for me.

Or is it?

I rush out to buy VHS tapes today, and as I pull into the parking lot I see a girl who looks just like her minus the pig tails she had on Saturday. She's just about to climb into a mini van (the same type of vehicle she ran to and from this weekend) and I rush out of my car to see if it's her.

And then I don't look.

And then someone in her direction says, "nice hair" and I glance over. It's her. It's the same girl. After saying "thanks" I continue into the store without so much as saying, "were you at the Delta Center on Saturday?" or, "thanks. I like yours too." or even the ever so bold, "you're super cute. Do you have a boyfriend?"

This entry almost epitomizes this month's theme. This is what I do when I get second chances. And you wonder why I'm single.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin