November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

June 11, 2003 // 9:12 p.m. // Don't stand so close to me

You know how when you're driving you have to stop at a light and the driver behind you pulls up reeeeallly close behind you? So you drive forward a bit to give yourself some room, and they also drive forward leaving you back where you started?

The only thing worse is when it happens in a grocery line.

I'll admit I'm more particular about this than most. Waiting in long lines I can do. But the being close is something I can't handle.

I went to the grocery store (insert long irrelevant story here) and I'm waiting to pay for my macaroni and drinks. I see an arm reach over my shoulder for a tabloid, turn around, and the woman is less than a half arm away from me. I expect that she'll step back after picking up the magazine.

She doesn't.

So we're behind a woman with a wild kid with 25 items and a check book in the express 12 items or less lane, and there is no one else in line. The woman stays close behind me.

So I pull forward.

So does she.

I do it again.

She follows my lead.

By now I'm at the counter, meaning I was a good five feet from the 25 item lady in front of me. And this woman insists on standing no more than a foot behind me.

Even as I'm standing before the cashier when it is my turn to check out, she's standing by my side at the same distance as if we came together. I moved forward a few inches and so did she.

I like to have a lot of room when standing in line. It's not like I live in New York where everything is close together and people are packed in. Salt Lake allows you plenty of personal space.

So why stand so close?

Looking at the distance between myself and the television, I'd like at least that much room. Upon measuring that distance, I find that it is 2 1/2 feet. That distance is about the minimum.

I guess the distance between two people talking is what I'd like to have in line. Not rubbing against me at the bank. Not close enough to feel your breath on the back of my neck as I'm ordering my cheeseburger. Not close enough for you to read my wash instructions on the t-shirt I'm buying.

Just. Some. Space.

Thank you.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin