November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

June 23, 2003 // 8:22 p.m. // Finally Rilo Kiley has come back to Salt Lake

To say I was excited yesterday is an understatement.

More than five months after skipping Salt Lake on their winter/spring tour, Rilo Kiley are playing here on July 15th.

Currently they are my favorite band and have been since last fall. The fact that they will be playing at the anti-venue of Kilby Court only adds to the fun.

You know how most clubs are a building, and within this building somewhere is a stage? Not here. This isn't a club. It's barely even a building.

In the unpopulated industrial area of Salt Lake lies a small one lane street with a few houses and buildings. One of these "buildings" is the venue. If you don't know what you're looking for, you miss it, because if I remember right, the numbers 741 for the venue appear on a house.

Kilby Court is a gate, a house, a fire pit for those cold nights and a garage where the bands play. The venue is actually a yard. It's so odd, but at the same time so incredibly cool.

Finally, I get a picture of something I'm talking about. Even if I have to steal them from a radio station to do it.

This is what I mean. The gray structure on the left with the door is where the band plays. It's small inside and very garage-like. I don't think the sign that reads "capacity 49" is a joke either. The red gate is the entrance, and inside you find a yard to hang out in with a firepit.

The address on your ticket is this house. It's not the venue, but if you don't know any better, you'd think it is as there is nothing venue-like on this small street.

I find it more interesting than I'm sure you do. I just wanted to share.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin