January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

November 05, 2002 // 8:34 a.m. // How incredibly...well, just read

Crazy Utah pre-law: Our mayor, Rocky Anderson, actually considered some kind of smoking ban on the sidewalks of Salt Lake. How you could pass a law like that, I don't know, but that would mean the only place you could smoke would be clubs and your own home. Don't get me wrong. I hate being around smoke. I gag uncontrollably, but a law like that would make us...well, it's so very Utah.

Speaking of Utah, we have another crazy law. Restaurants, bars and liquor stores cannot serve alcohol until after the polls close today. I guess they didn't want anyone voting while under the influence of alcohol like voting for Dave "alive and running for Congress. Thomas. I think I heard the founder of Wendy's roll over in his grave upon first hearing of this. I can't get this ad out of my head from this spring:

________________________________________________________________________________

A major difference between my dad and I can be seen in this from months ago.

My sister: "What's 'remission'?"

Me: "It means the cancer is going away."

A few minutes later. (His exact quote has been misplaced. I can't recall where I placed it.)

My sister: "What's 'remission'?"

Dad: Well, it's a complicated thing. It has to do with t-cell counts, how the cancer is spreading, how healthy you are...It has to do with chemotherapy treatments...In fact remission...

He could, and probably did explain for a few minutes what my sister wanted a simple answer to. This was months ago, but I'm suddenly reminded of it.

'Cancer' now has a face (and what a cute one it is!). And so does 'coma' and 'burn victim.' I guess that's all it takes to snap you into a realization of how incredibly lucky you are. (1:53 p.m.) Death now has a face too.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin