January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

October 23, 2002 // 3:12 p.m. // Today was just so much fun?

Recap of my day from about 9:00 on:

Drama: Read a fifteen page section of Othello, divided into three groups where each group took five pages to discuss. Discussing this play in class really helps, because I cannot grasp Shakespeare otherwise. After reading what our group read in class, I agree that Iago is the most devlish and despised character in literature.

English: Discussed our research papers, divided into our assigned english groups to read a hilarious essay that I'm sure was meant to be taken seriously on illusions and the truth. Pop Star Crush, who always sits in front of me and who talked to me yesterday, migrated to the west side of the classroom to sit with one of the many boys openly crushing on her. When we divided up into our assigned groups, those assigned by the teacher in which Pop Star, Brook, Nicole and I have been working in all semester more than a half dozen times or more already to discuss essays, our research papers, and our lives in general, Pop Star was nowhere to be found. She hooked up with the group of guys on the other side of the room, perhaps because they'll flirt and make her the center of attention. So as a result, our group immediately made an unofficial trade: Pop Star Crush for David, the witty hockey player who I believe was formerly in their group. This will prove to be interesting, as Pop Star will have to join us in our group this Friday and next Monday and Wednesday. I think I was the only one who noticed she wasn't in the group. It was fun without her. As you can see, I'm more than a little bothered by the fact that she ditched us.

Oh, but in case I didn't say it a month ago when it originally popped into my head, the crush on Pop Star is over. Sure she looks like a specific pop star, but there are two key things (actually three) about her that make us almost incompatible. That, and she's just not smart. And besides, Brook is much cuter, funnier and more intelligent.

Poetry: The usual fun with Chantilli x 10. Had this been a high school class, we no doubt would have been disciplined for our constant laughing. The climax of this fun came when the teacher meant to write, "I like to spend money-a lot" on the board to demonstrate how to use the dash like Emily Dickenson did in one of her poems, only instead of beginning the sentance with "I" he began it with "A." "Shouldn't that be 'I'?" Chantilli whispered to me. Not noticing, I looked at the board, and quietly repeated the sentance to her as written: "A like to spend money-a lot" in my best Forrest Gump accent. Chantilli giggled so loud that the entire class, teacher as well turned their heads to look at her. We kept laughing quietly for the remaining ten minutes of class.

Chantilli and I have become pretty good friends. She's into astrology and found out various things from my birthdate and time of birth. There are also a number of things we think exactly alike on. And did I mention that she remembers nearly everything I say? She rocks, but there is no crush on my part. And I'm too clueless as to when a girl flirts with me to confirm whether some of the things she does constitutes a crush on her part. Crushes are good and fun. But friendships are better.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin