January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

November 10, 2002 // 3:02 p.m. // Murder, debauchery, and insults: Another night with Britt and the crew

As it is in millions of households across the country, football is the name of the game this afternoon. While I'm watching season two of Sports Night on DVD while contemplating how to analyze yet another piece of literature for one of my many english classes, the first quarter of the Chiefs/49ers game is on in the dining room. I find it funny that the room in our house with the most technology is actually the dining room.

So football. All weekend every weekend. Last night it was our local colleges, which love or hate, my dad cheers for all of them. It should also be noted that he's watching the game while lying down, and in fifteen or so minutes, he'll be asleep.

I spent the night playing a murder mystery game with Britt and seven others. Games like this usually aren't my style. I can only go so far with analytical games. I wasn't the murderer, but that's another story alltogether.

The real story is Martha brought her friend Tara (*who we called 'Sarah' and 'Cara' because it never sounded like Tara) and I don't know if it's because she was outgoing or because she was very typical of girls you find around here or because she, Tara, was robbing Britt of time with her best friend, but Britt didn't like her at all. No sooner had the front door shut at Britt's house after Tara and Martha left did she begin to pick apart little things like the way she laughed, the way she interrupted and the way she asked questions that had already been asked.

The laugh didn't bother me. It was a good laugh. You don't hear many. It was good in that it had a rhythm and a sound, until about three seconds in when it became a snort. Maybe that's what bothered Britt and the rest of us, but I'd have to go against her in saying it was one of the few laughs I enjoyed (until the snort of course).

In terms of asking questions that had been asked? Britt does this all the time. In fact, she's notorious for it. I don't know if it's being forgetful or just not taking it into her head, but she does this and was in no position to talk.

Don't get me wrong. Tara wasn't perfect. Her comments on things not related to the game that she thought were so innocent on things brought the party to a complete stop a few times, but aside from being a typical Utah girl, she was ok. Britt should have called her on that one. The big things. Not the petty stuff.

And we (Anita, Britt and I) at the end of the night made an appearance at a party, which was the lamest thing I've ever seen. After being told by Hung to drop by because, "everyone was over the age of 18" we left a few minutes later after finding out only a few were over the age of 18. Basically, it was a high school party at his house while his parents were away, and a lame one at that. Don't hold me to this, but I think I heard Christina Aguilera music being broadcast from another room. Also, the comment of, "we've got the good stuff. We've got Budweiser." ranks up there among the funniest things I've heard that I had to use all of my control to keep from laughing. I mean, the fact that they thought of the 3.2% alcohol in a Budweiser as the good stuff? Need I explain more?

As it is, it's still football Sunday, and only 8 minutes of game, but 23 minutes of actual time has elasped since I began this entry. And in case anyone cares, as I type this, Kansas City has just scored a touchdown to tie the game at 10.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin