November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

August 25, 2003 // 9:46 p.m. // Well, get out the brushes and color me tickled pink

School started today, but I feel I'm too old to do one of those recaps. I've already done oral ones to my family, my mom asking me about my day and in the same tone of voice as if it were my first day of grade school. As it were, the day was fine except for that flat tire I ended up getting and the fact that I had forgot how full the campus is at 8:30. Not since freshman year had I taken a 9:00 class.

Good news is my art class looks like it'll be fun despite my lack of artistic talent. Bad news is the walk is horrendous and I don't know what our $40 lab fee is going toward, as we have to buy our own brushes, paints, paper, rags and soap. Don't be surprised if we have to rent our own aprons. My guess is the money is going: a) to the bookstore. Since we don't have a book, they have to charge us something. b) to pay for building the Art Center, the newest building on campus or c) right into the pocket of our professor.

Paint is expensive. Brushes are expensive. We have to have it all by Wednesday too. We're talking six-eight brushes, two tubes of paint, an 18x22" book of paper, a sketch pad and various supplies like rags and soap. Plus we have to carry it around with us all day. Fortunately, the eleven tubes of oil paint can wait another day.

With a little luck, they'll make a Bob Ross of me yet. Happy little trees anyone?

I only wish I didn't have a cross-campus walk to this class. It's downhill, but if I want a seat next to the two people in class I think I can click with creatively, I'll have to actually run, heavy backpack and all. I wish I knew the distance, but it's quite the trip.

I'll remember that experience though when my paintings are being shown in some hip New York gallery with brief discriptions and five digit price tags.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin