January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

November 30, 2002 // 8:03 a.m. // What I've been up to

Due to every store and fast food restaurant being either closed or open for limited hours, my Thanksgiving dinner wasn't all it was cracked up to be. I didn't stuff my face or eat until I was full. I did however spend the day snacking on those mini crumb donuts.

Yesterday? Perhaps I'm not the brightest boy in the world for deciding to brave the crowds for the biggest day of the Xmas shopping season. I hit Walmart, an office supply store and Shopko before finally heading home. I was surprised at how calm Walmart was. I didn't even have to wait in line. Meanwhile at Shopko, after more than an hour of shopping for nearly everyone I know, I waited in a checkout line for at least 45 minutes. I was tempted to toss items out of my basket to reach the limit of 12 that subsequently would have rushed me through the line at the optical center, but getting rid of 12 packs of Coca Cola by tossing them would have created slick and sticky aisles.

Speaking of sticky, a few nights ago, all of my coats were in the washer. They were wet, and there was no way I could wear them to bed. I had to improvise. I put on a sweatshirt, an Old Navy half-zip pullover from two years ago, and reached for one of my least favorite coats (but at least it was a coat) which was hanging on the back of my door, which by the way was opened away from me.

In order to reach this coat, I would have to stretch for the hanger, thus leading me to hold onto the wall of my room while standing on the bed. Why couldn't I just walk up to it you ask? Well, because in front of the door is a stack of about 12 boxes. Standing on those would have crushed them.

So I'm standing on my bed, leaning forward and reaching for a coat on a hanger just out of my reach. I finally grab it, pull it toward me, balance myself and pull myself back toward my bed.

And then I kick or hit the full glass of orange juice sitting on my desk, which is another reason I couldn't get to the jacket. The desk is so big. And did I mention my room is dark with the exception of the television on?

I tried to catch it, but it spilled out 3/4 of the juice before I could. After turning on the light, I saw the carnage. It had spilled all over my photos and my sophomore yearbook. All of my photos were on the floor in a semi-neat stack just near the desk. Why couldn't it have spilled six inches to the right over framed photos? And why couldn't it have spilled all over the desk itself? I'm still afraid to assess the damage done. I haven't even dared open the envelopes to see the sticky situation my orange juice landed me in.

Maybe I'll do it after I return from making a return at Shopko and buying some items at Target.

I try

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin