November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

March 26, 2003 // 8:20 p.m. // "Ain't gonna be no rematch" (well, actually there is)

Note: This entry is admittedly a bit boring, but it was truly so much fun to write, that I can't help but love it. Afterall, I did have to kill some time before tonight's concert.

Well, I suppose the first bit of good news is I won my best two out of three series against Melanie in billiards. Unfortunately, the girl I thought was Melanie wasn't, and I had to ask Derek if he knew. He pointed his cue as if Babe Ruth calling his shot at the girl in the overalls and the red shirt. I walked over to her, asked her identity, and we began playing.

It was fun. A lot of fun. And it wasn't easy because she's just a bit better than me. She won the first game, prompting Derek to predict I was about to lose, seeing as how I now had to win two in a row.

Minutes later though, he lost two straight to Emily, the Fairuza Balk look-alike, and good friend of my nemesis Ryan, (new alias BMW) who bears similarities to Ben Savage.

The second game I didn't play well, but I left her impossible shots every time. My win was a total fluke and surprise, and we were knotted at one apiece.

Game three. Not to sound super dramatic, but it felt like the championship game/match you see in those sports movies after watching the struggle it took to reach that point. I almost feel like Howard Cosell. and a competitor all in one.

Back and forth for a good ten minutes we both took our shots at the last ball on the table, leaving the striped yellow ball in terrible positions after every shot because we were "playing it safe," knowing that one mistake would send the loser one step closer to elimination.

And then it happened. She shot, and left both the nine ball and the cue ball inches from the pocket. We waited for it to fall. It didn't. I took my shot, barely tapped the ball and won.

I'd be lying if I said I didn't have various Rocky-themed moments running through my head after the victory. For instance, I was wearing a hooded sweatshirt, and I briefly considered jogging up the four steps that led to the union building before realizing I'd no doubt look like a fool.

Actually, I didn't consider it. I didn't even think of that until now. But I can't believe I was so excited over a first round in-class billiards tournament game from an intro class that is only taught twice a week.

But now the real test begins. On Monday, I face my nemesis, the boy who knocked me out of the last tournament. It seemed only fitting that he'd be watching our game from the next table today, and that upon the conclusion of class, we'd exchange glares near the exit.

Eat, sleep and drink billiards, Jason. You lost to him the first time, listened to the trash talk and now here's your rematch. Here's your Rocky II. Forget about the similarities to the movie from today's game. Because here's where your Rocky story truly begins.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin