November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

January 13, 2003 // 10:05 p.m. // Have it your way (as long as that means mistakes galore)

Today's order. Correct in every respect except I gave them a ten and as you can see, they didn't give me any change initially.

Our local Burger King is such a joke. I'm sure those of you who frequent your fast food establishment of choice on occasion have no problems whatsoever, but in addition to death and taxes, we add the 2100 south Burger King messing up your order to the sure things in life.

Today I bypassed the drive thru in favor of longer lines but an easier way to escape the poorly planned exit after completing the drive thru experience. I ordered my usual (three Whoppers, no tomato, no onion) and was surprised when they got my order correct, even if my change was screwed up. (Read: I got none)

But this was far from a perfect experience for other customers.

The guy in front of me ordered his food to go and was given his food on a tray. Plus, they didn't give him his cup until they gave him his food, meaning the three minutes he spent waiting could have been better spent filling up his drink. The other guy in front of me? He was coming back into the dining area as I was leaving because his order of one Whopper was somehow botched.

I could really tell dozens of tales about this one specific location. For instance, there was the time they left my food on the ledge at the drive thru and I could have easily drove off without paying. Or the time I paid with a ten and the guy set the ten on top of the register before returning a minute later and handing me the same ten dollars I gave him.

And then there was the day (Saturday) when they gave me no change at all. And lets not forget Sunday (yesterday) when I paid five dollars for a $3.20 total, only to be given five dollars in quarters as change. Seriously. She was probably cashing in quarters for a five dollar bill at another register, but she poured twenty quarters into my hand without even realizing that she was doing so. It seems if you're giving a customer that much change, enough to require both of us to use both hands to hold it, it would hit you that something was wrong, but it didn't, and I was left at the register with two handfuls of shiny 2002 quarters.

And yes, I did hand them back but not before rolling my eyes at the situation. We had a laugh about the incident, I carefully handed her the coins, and just when I thought this bizarre scene was nearing its end, she hands me a dollar bill, two 50 cent coins, a quarter and a nickel.

$2.30 for those of you keeping track at home. Remember, my original change should have been $1.80. Somehow, she had mistaken two 50 cent coins for quarters and had given me a quarter as well. It's not like she gave me those as a substitute for quarters, but she actually had to go out of her way to reach into another slot to retrieve a quarter.

I don't understand, nor did I try to. One thing I do understand however, is how much fun it is to visit that specific Burger King, because as my sister and I have learned, sometimes it's not worth it even for 99 cent Whoppers, but there are also the occasional days where we need a guaranteed laugh and we need look no farther than our local Burger King to find it.

I really need to stick with the KFC three blocks up the street. There, not only does everybody know my name, but my order as well and they have me in and out of there before the rest of the line has even had a chance to make their decision.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin