November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

January 25, 2005 // 11:40 p.m. // Welcome to the fun of exclusivity.

So here's the story: I have a Sundance credential that gets me into the daytime music cafe, the nighttime music cafe, the Sundance House (home of tomorrow's BMI showcase) and any other "exclusive" event. It's something I treasure.

Now, I have three friends that want to go with me to the showcase tomorrow, and another person who wants to go but has to work. One wants to see Daniel Johnston. One wants to see Ben Gibbard. Another wants to see Minnie Driver. I wish I had the credentials to give to these people, but I don't. In fact, I wish Sundance weren't so exclusive in the first place. I tried emailing the artists that had contact info on their sites, but it was to no avail as none of them emailed me back. I told them all to show up because it doesn't hurt to try, but I certainly don't want them to be disappointed if they can't get in.

I think I should advise them to a) buy a credential next year like I did or b) buy a ticket package for $200 that comes with a credential, and then sell off the tickets like I'll do next year.

As it is now, I'll be enjoying Anna Nalick, Lori McKenna and Suzanne Vega without any other fans or friends. And when that ends, I'll be enjoying Ben Gibbard, Minnie Driver and Vanessa Carlton without any friends. You know, it's funny that I used to dislike going to concerts with friends, and never did until last January. But now, I really wish I had someone to talk to, as I spend all day in Park City.

P.S. I just heard that Nellie McKay may have played a third set today, and I missed it. The one day I don't show up and she plays. Here's a photo of her from Sunday, one of the most fun days I've ever had. I'll talk about it later. Hopefully the film photos turn out better.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin