January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021
Recapping a friendship #1 - December 20, 2021
The one where I have a rough weekend and debate sharing it publicly. - December 19, 2021

December 16, 2002 // 2:05 p.m. // Post office. And "breaking news"

Due to the fact that Xmas is days away, I finally made my way down to the post office to mail my final to Xmas packages.

Have you been to the main post office in Salt Lake today? Of course not. Santa Claus was there, as were Santa's little helpers distributing cookies, White Christmas was being piped into the lobby area, reporters, TV stations, photographers and photographers were there. They even had Santa hats...'Tis the season alright. Fortunately, this post office is a mile from my house and the lines are extremely short.

I was greeted at the door by dueling "Santa ladies." They were both wearing Santa hats, and were trying to be the first to offer me a cookie. Having not eaten all day, I obliged, took a number and waited for my turn in about six numbers. My wait would be no more than five minutes.

Another lady approached me asking if I had any questions. I wasn't a big fan of her. Sure she was respectful and called me sir, but she was nosy. She asked if I was shipping overseas, and befre I could ask, she got extremely close to me and looked at my packages which were clutched close to me, saw they were being sent to San Antonio, and then backed off.

Boy, shipping was more than I anticipated. $19.90 for the two packages. I now know I have spent far too much on Xmas for people.

As pleasant as it was, I was still glad to get out of there.

And now there is a huge press confrence being conducted with Utah's heavy hitters with mucho dinero (Eccles, Sorenson, Huntsman) which is pitting the LDS church against the city of Salt Lake. You see, apparently our former mayor made some kind of deal with the church either allowing or allocating them control (partial or otherwise) of the block of main street on the east side of the Temple. I'd go into it, but it gives me such a headache.

Apparently, they're looking to "bridge the gap" between the east and west side of the city. I say go for it, but it won't be easy to eliminate stereotypes from people's minds. I'm still guilty of it, and I went to the east side high school. Maybe things will gradually get better between the two sides of the city.

And did he just say that this is an "exciting and sexy proposal"? Oh boy.

And how are the kids winners in this debate between the city and the church Did I just miss something? And now they're saying the homeless will benefit, in addition to the Glendale area (my neighborhood)? I *have* to be missing something. How did something over a block of Main Street spill into the Poplar Grove and Glendale neighborhoods?

(rolling his eyes) Oh, it's all so much to take. I could really go for the guest entry thing. Waiter? Check please!

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin