January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

August 01, 2002 // 8:59 a.m. // Funny seeing you here again

I'm generally not the type (anymore) to do crazy things for no reason. For the most part, I don't draw attention to myself. In any way.

Which is why this little thing surprised me.

I decided to go with McDonalds over macaroni and cheese. And as I drove up to window number two (the food window) I saw a man I recognized at the counter inside. And then I saw a girl I also knew.

It was Britt and her dad, though I couldn't be sure if it was her or not, because her hat was pulled over her face.

I yelled out her name. No response. I yelled again. Remember, I'm in the drive thru lane outside, and she's standing at the counter waiting for her food. And I'm yelling out her name.

Nobody notices. Not the other patrons, not her, not even the employees. And I yelled her name pretty loud.

So that's my little drawing attention to myself story, and it didn't even work.

I wanted to talk to them, so as soon as I got my food, I parked and went inside to talk to her. Due to her hat pulled down over her face, she didn't even see me, let alone recognize me, and almost ran into me in the process. I tapped her on the shoulder. Forgive me, for I love dialogue in my entries.

"Hi, Britt."

"Hey. Dad, you remember Jason."

"Yes. Hi Jason."

"Hi."

"What have you been up to?"

"Nothing."

"You need to call me!" When she said this, she stepped toward me, and playfully tried to kick me. Her cell phone was in her hand. I found it coincidental that I noticed it at this moment.

"I know. I never call you."

"I'll call you."

"Ok."

"Doing anything this weekend?"

"No."

"We'll do something."

"Ok."

So Friday or Saturday may be a Britt and the crew day. The crew has definitely changed, so it's truly not the same. Kids are either married, having children or involved in other things. I think it's why I've refrained from calling her. That, and I honestly just forget.

We went a full year with no contact. I graduated a year before her, and never saw or spoke to her during her senior year. And my first call to her just a year ago led to a few days of hanging out last summer, and a few this year.

She's one of the people that I get a kick out of spending time with. When you're with Britt, you can always count on a story where her ditziness or her naivete will have you laughing like crazy.

And I need to remember to call her, or next time, she will kick me.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin