November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

February 01, 2003 // 6:08 p.m. // Not so busted

The camera that I took out for a joyride the other day? Remember how I said it would all end up like an episode of I Love Lucy?

It did.

For starters, I took the camera downtown to take photos of the same objects I took back in September. I turned the camera on, and the exposure was set to what looked to be "S" which I figured stood for start, as in the beginning of the roll.

I took about seven photos before the film began to rewind. It was here that I truly realized I had done something I shouldn't have. It wasn't an "S" afterall, but the number 5.

After rewinding, I opened the back of the camera. The generic non-name brand of film was Smith's, and I knew I had another problem. All Smith's brand rolls of film were now labeled Kroger's.

I headed to Smith's anyway with the last bit of money that I had. I bought two rolls of film, matched up the exposure and speed, opened it up, and really wasn't surprised when the canister read Kroger.

On my way home, I stopped off at the local Smith's store to locate any Smith's brand film, and was surprised when I found the last box of film in the store.

The only problem was it was a pack of four rolls, and of course I needed just one.

I bought it anyway, knowing that my only chance to cover my tracks would be if I replaced the film with the same brand it contained before.

$13.00 and six rolls of film later, I had finally accomplished the first of my goals.

Her last roll was five photos in. I went about taking very blurred photos of items around the house that would not be able to be identified, and that upon developing the roll of film, could be blamed on her lack of knowledge of the camera. I did this twice, plus took a picture of the ceiling which I could blame on me "accidently messing around with the camera."

Three photos was all I could take before she arrived home. She didn't even noticed that only three had been taken rather than five.

On another note, the camera doesn't belong to the school, but to her. I had no clue that my dad actually bought this camera for her a year ago, but it's been in the shop for repairs at least once.

I feel like Ralphie in A Christmas Story dropping subtle and not so subtle hints that I want the "Canon Eos Rebel Ti camera with a 28-90 mm zoom lens." While I highly doubt that I'd "shoot my eye out" I'd definitely shoot to my hearts content.

For the record, the birthday count is now at 16 days.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin