November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

October 22, 2004 // 10:50 p.m. // Canadian colours shining through

*

I just visited her site and found this. Being a dork and not afraid to admit it, I was fascinated. A coin with color? How can this be?

After searching the web and finding just two stories about the world's first colored quarter (released just yesterday), I realized that info isn't easy to find.

I need one of these. Again, I'm not afraid to let my dorkiness show. Since I live in America and have no way of getting to a Tim Hortons, I figured I'd have to do the next best thing.

eBay. Bingo.

There are plenty of them on there, but I'll be damned if I'm going to pay $20 for one. Sheesh, I should even feel ridiculous paying $1-4 for one. I'd be paying up to 16 times the face value. Not to mention the exchange rate in there.

So, should I feel ridiculous paying $3 plus two dollars for shipping for a 25 cent coin? Yes. Will I do it? Probably. Actually, I just did it. I bid more than the face value on a quarter. The only way it'd look cooler and be more worth it is if the maple leaf were red instead.

But like I said, it's worth it to me. I really wish we had colored coins (despite them being limited) because they sure look cooler than our new 50's, which I just got a few days ago. You can't tell from these photos, but there are a lot of colors on them. A lot.

We can try to spice up our change by adding unique things about states to the quarters, but the bottom line is they aren't in color, and as long as they aren't in color, we'll always be one step behind Canada.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin