January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021
Recapping a friendship #1 - December 20, 2021
The one where I have a rough weekend and debate sharing it publicly. - December 19, 2021

December 18, 2002 // 7:57 p.m. // To Chantilli or not to Chantilli. That is the question

I wanted to compose an entry on this, but one day turned to two days which turned to a week, and now nine days later, I make mention of it, because I was just reminded of it again.

I had lunch with Chantilli on the last day of poetry class. I decided that since this was the last day of the semester, it'd be fun to take her out to lunch. After seeing what looked to be a very complicated menu at SouperSalad!, we decided on Subway (boy, I sure know how to pick the vegetarians) and we spent the time talking about nearly everything.

I must admit that I wasn't as big on Chantilli at this point as I was at the beginning of the semester. You know how you go through that period where you think a person is awesome and you enjoy hanging out with them only to have it fade after you get to know them on a more than shallow level? That's what's happened with me and Chantilli. I think one of the last straws was when she was steadfast on her stereotype that only gay men can listen to female artists. I almost let her have it on that one, but I decided to let her finish.

"He was listening to Sarah McLachlan and Madonna."

She already (kind of) jokingly asked if one of my friends was gay when I mentioned that his favorite artist was Mary J. Blige. I found it more than a little funny when I ejected my Mariah Carey Cd from the stereo that she laughed, but basically made no comment.

Maybe she just has something against 'M' female artists. Madonna, McLachlan, Mary, Mariah...she even went after Michelle (Branch). I laugh as I say this, but come to think about it, she loves artists that begin with the twelfth (Avril Lavigne) and fourteenth (Nirvana, Nine Inch Nails, No Doubt) letters of the alphabet, but not the thirteenth.

I just let her go on her T.E.N.T.-like monologue/rant that sounded very Andy Rooney without saying anything. Should. Should. Should have said something.

Oh. And a note. What do you find when you look in my CD collection? Michelle Branch, far too much Mariah Carey, Sarah McLachlan, even a Madonna album. And other albums "boys" aren't supposed to enjoy. (rolls eyes) I should have raised that point.

Plus, I'm not forgiving when it comes to people insulting my favorite artists for some reason. A boy in my drama class four years ago asked what I was listening to on my headphones, and when I responded with The Cardigans, he quipped that I should pick "a real band." I'm in the mood to be petty and insult someone who will never read this, but I'll keep it calm for now.

Why did I even begin all of this? Well, because before lunch, Chantilli gave me her number, and told me to call her, because she would never call me unless she knew I had an interest in calling her. Unfortunately, I'm the same way. I never call. In fact, I never call Britt at all. But I need to. She doesn't have the new cel phone number.

Tangents, Jason. Just like Chantilli.

Out of the blue, she called me today. And put me on hold thrice. And freaked out when I put the phone on speaker, because I wanted to clean my room and do other things while on the phone with her that holding it to my ear wouldn't allow.

Within the first two minutes, she asked me to go dancing with her at a club this Friday. I joked that I'd go when she replaced the cup holder she broke when I gave her a ride home months ago. I'm supposed to call her tomorrow to get the details. My first thought when she asked me this was of swing dancing with Britt and the half-crew a few years ago. So that's going to be my Friday, probably. Dancing with Chantilli.

I'm hoping she's not thinking of this as more than dancing. I don't have the interest in her that she may or may not have in me. I picked up on some (a lot?) of flirting, but I don't know if it's flirting or just her. It's both. I'm extremely flattered if she is, but I'm not as into it as she is.

I'm such a rambler. But it'll be nice to do something on the weekend after doing nothing the last two or three weekends other than hanging at the hip coffee house to write in my journal. I just need to have fun and not think. Or think. Because thinking gets me out of situations.

And I'm thinking too much already. See where this is going?

Note: This entry took as long to compose as the phone call with her. (46 minutes)

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin